Linux - texture wrapping

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Post Reply
JRX
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 8:59 am

Linux - texture wrapping

Post by JRX »

There is some problem with new version of Irrlicht runing on Linux. In the previous version everything was ok, but now, the textures are wrapped incorrectly. Here is the screenshot from version 0.9:
Image
And the same demo from version 0.10:
Image

BTW. Has anyone else got the problem with shaders, even if graphics card suport them? My drivers are up-to date, from ati.com
JRX --> "alien" + "server" + /at + "op" + /dot + "pl"

If the words "open source" get you more excited than the words "free porn"...you might be a Game Developer.

Registered Linux user# 383163
ondrew
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 2:24 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Post by ondrew »

I have this problem too, under Linux the textures are wrongly wrapped. The same meshes/textures under Windows work fine.

version 0.9
Image
version 0.10
Image

It doesn't seem to affect meshes loaded from x. The software renderer gets all the textures right - so it must be some OpenGL/Linux issue.
Geno

Post by Geno »

JRX, I got exactly the same problems. I use also the ati binarys and the tool from ati say that shader stuff is supported.
niko
Site Admin
Posts: 1759
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 4:44 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by niko »

Hm, strange. I've a computer on which this problem appears too, so I'll try to find it.
Cristian

Post by Cristian »

As a temporary measure output as *.exe and use WineX. 100% no problems! BTW I don't have that problem under Linux (Xandros, Knoppix). It should to be driver-related.
niko
Site Admin
Posts: 1759
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 4:44 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by niko »

I think hybrid found the problem. To fix it, open COpenGLDriver.cpp, search for

Code: Select all

pGlClientActiveTextureARB = (PFNGLCLIENTACTIVETEXTUREARBPROC)
#ifdef GLX_VERSION_1_4 
	glXGetProcAddress(reinterpret_cast<const GLubyte*>("glActiveTextureARB")); 
#else 
	glXGetProcAddressARB(reinterpret_cast<const GLubyte*>("glActiveTextureARB")); 
#endif
and replace it with

Code: Select all

pGlClientActiveTextureARB = (PFNGLCLIENTACTIVETEXTUREARBPROC)
#ifdef GLX_VERSION_1_4 
	glXGetProcAddress(reinterpret_cast<const GLubyte*>("glClientActiveTextureARB")); 
#else 
	glXGetProcAddressARB(reinterpret_cast<const GLubyte*>("glClientActiveTextureARB")); 
#endif
That should fix the bug.
JRX
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 8:59 am

Post by JRX »

Yep, it works fine now.
JRX --> "alien" + "server" + /at + "op" + /dot + "pl"

If the words "open source" get you more excited than the words "free porn"...you might be a Game Developer.

Registered Linux user# 383163
afecelis_guest

Post by afecelis_guest »

this fix rocks!
0.10 works like a charm

thnx Niko and guys! :D
Post Reply