load a quake 3 map different from tutorial 2

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
Guest

load a quake 3 map different from tutorial 2

Post by Guest »

i have download from internet different quake 3 map, but when i load in the engine is all grey. Are the map corrupted ? While with the map of tutorial 2 is all ok.
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

check the console window (behind the app you run) for any errors. My guess is that it's not finding the necesary media in the path you specified.

Did you try the map in Quake3 prior to importing it? It might also not be working in Quake.

but check the console first.
alfa
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 10:16 am

Post by alfa »

the console window say: could not find mesh...
what is a mesh ? in the package that i have downloaded there is only a file .pk3

video::IVideoDriver* driver = device->getVideoDriver();
scene::ISceneManager* smgr = device->getSceneManager();
device->getFileSystem()->addZipFileArchive("C:\\Documents and Settings\\Xanto\\Desktop\\warhorse\\Q3clans\\map-pdmq3duel5-BETA2.pk3");


scene::IAnimatedMesh* mesh = smgr->getMesh(i don't know what write in this point);
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

the mesh ib this case is the bsp file.

Code: Select all

device->getFileSystem()->addZipFileArchive("./data/irrlicht.pk3");
	
	scene::IAnimatedMesh* level = 0;
	level = smgr->getMesh("irrlicht.bsp");
this bsp must comply to the Quake 3 folder structure to be loaded properly.
Post Reply