Virtual City
Sorry, I cannot estimate anything, many things changed last time. The engine is now growing to be commercial, it sounds scarry , but it will be anyway available free for everyone, don't be afraid . I just don't know when it will be. The code is now being rewrited and redesigned, it won't use Irrlicht anymore. There's much to do, I think it will take long moths until first full release.
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 8:16 am
- Location: Keerbergen, Belgium
Maybe units aren't handled by your specific engine but I pop the question anyway.
Would it be possible to have a very large number of citizens in a town with this engine? I mean, as long as they are only drawn if they are in view (which irrlicht handles automatically), this shouldn-t be to cpu-heavy right? I know all disitions and pathfinding will eat resources as normally but what would be a very roughly aproximated MAX_CITIZENS_WALKING_ABOUT on an average machine?
Thanks
Club
Would it be possible to have a very large number of citizens in a town with this engine? I mean, as long as they are only drawn if they are in view (which irrlicht handles automatically), this shouldn-t be to cpu-heavy right? I know all disitions and pathfinding will eat resources as normally but what would be a very roughly aproximated MAX_CITIZENS_WALKING_ABOUT on an average machine?
Thanks
Club
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 6:34 am
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
@Club
If you want to have every person with a specified way and its own story, it will be dificult, as the cpu-power is limiting the number.
But if you only want that it "looks" lika a very populated city you can do it with a trick. As you have said only render the People (NPC's) if they are in range of the player and can be seen. You can set up waypoints on the streets wich the AI follows automaticly if they where spawned. So you can check where the player is and then spawn new npc's arround. If the player is to far away, delete the npc.
You can optimice this when you make an array in memory and set it to a specified number (lets say 50 npc's should be arround every time). As the memory is allocated, you have only to change the position of the npc if it is out of range. You can also test the machine how many npc's it can handle and then set the max number depending on the machine posebileties.
If you want to have every person with a specified way and its own story, it will be dificult, as the cpu-power is limiting the number.
But if you only want that it "looks" lika a very populated city you can do it with a trick. As you have said only render the People (NPC's) if they are in range of the player and can be seen. You can set up waypoints on the streets wich the AI follows automaticly if they where spawned. So you can check where the player is and then spawn new npc's arround. If the player is to far away, delete the npc.
You can optimice this when you make an array in memory and set it to a specified number (lets say 50 npc's should be arround every time). As the memory is allocated, you have only to change the position of the npc if it is out of range. You can also test the machine how many npc's it can handle and then set the max number depending on the machine posebileties.
In a singleplayer game it can be used without any problem, but if you want this in a multiplayer game you have to choose what you want to do. If you want that there are 50 people arround the player every time and that every player see the same position it will kill your bandwith as every npc has to be syncroniced with each client. But if you not want that the positions of the npc's are the same on every client, use it like in a singleplayer one and let it be only clientside.
-
- Posts: 64
- Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 5:06 am
That's badass!
Very good work! You've inspired me to work harder. Very impressive for an amature project.