How to open exe from within irrlicht?

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
MikeR
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Northern California USA
Contact:

How to open exe from within irrlicht?

Post by MikeR »

I have a button: Open that I would like to open another program from within an irrlicht app. I have been searching the web, but can't figure out how to code it.

Code: Select all

class MyEventReceiver : public IEventReceiver{public:	virtual bool OnEvent(SEvent event)	{		if (event.EventType == EET_GUI_EVENT)		{			s32 id = event.GUIEvent.Caller->getID();			IGUIEnvironment* env = device->getGUIEnvironment();
            switch(event.GUIEvent.EventType)
            {
case EGET_BUTTON_CLICKED:
              if (id == 101)
              {
                 device->OpenDevice(myOtherApp.exe);
                 return true;
              }
(code is example only)
Would this code work? or is there another way?
If it exists in the real world, it can be created in 3d

Sys specs:
AMD 3700+ 64 processor
1.0 gb ram
e-Geforce 6600 graphics 256 mb onboard ram
Guest

Post by Guest »

spawnlp
Didine
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 1:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by Didine »

system("your_app.exe");
WToma
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:38 am
Location: Szeged, Hungary

Post by WToma »

I think it is very system specific. Under windows, see ShellExecuce and ShellExecuceEx API functions.
Toma
"This is not a bug, this is a feature!"
MikeR
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Northern California USA
Contact:

Post by MikeR »

I added: system("myApp.exe"); and it compiles fine, but won't open.
I may have to go a different route.
(the exe is where it's supposed to be.)

Fixed and working. I was linking wrong. system("folder\\myApp.exe"); works great.
If it exists in the real world, it can be created in 3d

Sys specs:
AMD 3700+ 64 processor
1.0 gb ram
e-Geforce 6600 graphics 256 mb onboard ram
Post Reply