Font text and logo's keep getting antialiased..

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
Bluelight
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 10:25 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Font text and logo's keep getting antialiased..

Post by Bluelight »

Can someone give me some clue on how to fix this?
I know OpenGL should blur the textures a bit to make it look good on objects..

But the font text (images) and logo's (like the Irrlicht logo .tga-file) is blured/antialiased..

How do I fix this?



Eny help whould be awsome..
BlueLight
Bluelight
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 10:25 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Humm.. He he..

Post by Bluelight »

Ok, I think I found the reason for this..

The screenresulotion has everything to say when running it with a LCD screen..

So I changed the resolution to 1280x1024 and everything looks cool..
But it's very small and hard to read..

Also when I run the app in a window, the font images becomes extreamly un-clear..

An then then screen resolution is 1280x1024 as it should be..
So there have to be some kind of bluring machanism in this engine..

So my question still remains: how to diable antialiasing?
Blur sampling or whatever it is..
BlueLight
Spintz
Posts: 1688
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:25 pm

Post by Spintz »

you need to use CreateDeviceEx and set the parameter AntiAlias to false.

Like so :

Code: Select all

SIrrlichtCreationParameters params;
params.DriverType = EDT_DIRECTX9;
params.WindowSize = core::dimension2d<s32>( 800, 600 );
params.StencilBuffer = true;
params.AntiAlias = false;
IrrlichtDevice* device = createDeviceEx( params );

if( !device )
     // device creation failed
Image
Guest

Post by Guest »

Open gl doesnt use AA anyway ;)

What he wants to do is set the TextureCreationFlag CreateMipMaps to FALSE before loading ANY gui/font textures.THen re-enable it for 3D textures. Also very important (to the orginal poster who may be the last person to not know) you must make the textures proper powers of two not arbitrary sizes, and note (for anyone else who keeps getting this wrong) power of two does NOT mean even numbers. IT means 64x64,128x128,256x256,512x512 and any combination of that ie 512x64 or 128x256. Anything that is not dimensioned with any of 2,4,6,8,16,32,64,128,256,512,1024 and up are not powers of two.

Once again this stuff works fine here and the answers are on the board a thousand times.
Bluelight
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 10:25 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

:)

Post by Bluelight »

Thank you "Guest"..
I know I have to make it 256x256 and so on..

But can you give an example code to disable the MipMaps?

And by the way..
Why can't I use Bump maps on a .3ds model? :p

When I add a bump map, the bump is shown as a diffuse map and the real diffuse map is not used.. ??
BlueLight
bearSoft
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 9:55 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by bearSoft »

give an example code to disable the MipMaps?
like:
driver->setTextureCreationFlag(
video::ETCF_CREATE_MIP_MAPS, false);

i think this is it.

btw -I had a 'similar' problem some weeks back (bad resolution) i had to fidle with my graphis card setting and restart
Never found the reason that the graphic base settings had changed -some badly coded program i gues
-look into that as well
Regards.
Tech: win98se| 320mb ram| abitbe6| 433mhzceleron| atiRadeon7000.64mb| soundblaster125| dx9.0b | devCPP | IRR 0.12.0 |
Post Reply