Milkshape (ms3d) AnimatedNode -> very slow

You are an experienced programmer and have a problem with the engine, shaders, or advanced effects? Here you'll get answers.
No questions about C++ programming or topics which are answered in the tutorials!
Thorben Linneweber

Post by Thorben Linneweber »

okay, 5k (4990) frames for the body and i think 500 for the legs

I need this number of frames to show even more complex movements... (jumping, crouching, throwing nades, shooting with different guns...)

(look here for 2 screenshots:
http://teamoperations.blogspot.com/ )

I already completed the player class and it works really fine... only the speed of 20 players sucks... :(

Is there a possibility of reducing the quality of the mesh in milkshape?

>> if you'r hardware isnt drastically better than mine you really should concider using LOD or simmilar stuf..

Is this possible in Irrlicht?
ThommyE
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 3:02 pm
Location: germany/badnerlaendle

Post by ThommyE »

i was not talking about the frames... i talked about the triangles.. you grafic card may simply be not able to render all this stuff fast enough
EDIT: I icq-ed you..
athlon2400xp+,geforce4200ti, 0.2Tb hd+64mb extern, 512mb ram, linux FC5 2.6.16-1.2096, 100%gates-free system
pfo
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:54 pm
Location: http://web.utk.edu/~pfox1

Post by pfo »

The problem is perhaps also caused or influenced by the MS3D loader, which creates 3 vertices per triangle and does not take advantage of reusing vertices in the index buffer.
Are you sure about that? I use ms3d models to build collision geometry, and the vertex_count / 3 != index_count, which tells me that it is reusing vertices, in fact the index count to vertex count relates directly to what ms3d tells me it is. I'll have to doublecheck that and get your patch if you're correct, that would be great to catch that now before I start adding many many models to the game and wonder later how I could squeeze some bandwidth.
Andi|xng
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:49 pm
Location: Schrobenhausen, Germany
Contact:

Post by Andi|xng »

pfo wrote:Are you sure about that? I use ms3d models to build collision geometry, and the vertex_count / 3 != index_count, which tells me that it is reusing vertices, in fact the index count to vertex count relates directly to what ms3d tells me it is.
I don't understand your calculation "vertex_count / 3 != index_count". I never saw a model that has more vertexes than indices ;) That would mean that many vertices are not used at all!

Just download my patch and compare the new vertex/index-creating loop with the commented old one. You can see, that the old one (commented) creates really a new vertex for each index.

Example for my test model: Old routine: Created about 3000 vertices. New routine: Creates only about 1000 vertices.
Post Reply