how to use Klasker's cal3d scenenode?

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Klasker
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 8:53 am
Contact:

Post by Klasker »

The new version of my scene node (which I mentioned earlier) is now finished and should work straight from the box. You don't event need the cal3d source anymore. It is precompiled for you for both gcc and msvc.

1) Download the zip (it's about ~3 MB)
2) Read HelpMe.txt

There is an example program with source showing you how to use it. A few things have changed since the last version, but overall it is still the same.

Hope it works this time :?
terrorchrist
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 10:07 pm
Location: Vienna

Post by terrorchrist »

I AM using klasker*s cal3d scene node BUT as his render function caused the mesh to be rendered incorrectly, I simply added the code from the other scene node.

Also I removed the code from the render() methid and encountered that it is NOT ONLY the render() method that takes so much time. The major performance problem is in the OnPostRender() method....

So I just cannot use this model format

--> I'll try to switch to md3 ^^
Klasker
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 8:53 am
Contact:

Post by Klasker »

You didn't event read my post did you? I said I made a NEW version of it that works fine with gcc and msvc. Please download it and try it out! In the demo application included I am getting 300 FPS with the gcc version and 210 with the msvc version.
(..)BUT as his render function caused the mesh to be rendered incorrectly, (..)
Don't piss me off man! YOU messed with the render() method so it rendered incorrectly, not me. The new version should be much faster as there are no memory allocation issues and it is compatible with the msvc compiler.

And please read my post again. It's alright if you want to change to md3, but don't blame me or Cal3D for your low FPS or inverted triangles.
terrorchrist
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 10:07 pm
Location: Vienna

Post by terrorchrist »

sorry klasker!
it seems we wrote both of our posts at the same time, because when I wrote mine, yours was not in the thread! :D

Your code INDEED works fine, as I am able to compile it in vs 2k5 and the model is rendered correctly, but the performance is still too bad.

I mean we cannot create a game where the creation of a model lets the frame rate drop to 24fps, when it is about 200 without the f**king model....

cal3d seems to be tooooooooooo slow ^^
that's really a shame :cry:
Klasker
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 8:53 am
Contact:

Post by Klasker »

I don't understand why you are getting 24 fps when I am getting 300 fps. Is it only in your own program or is IrrCal3D-Example.exe also giving you low fps?
terrorchrist
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 10:07 pm
Location: Vienna

Post by terrorchrist »

no it seems to be only in our program....
seems to be too much for us ^^
I mean we have already a nice level with dynamic lighting and newton for collisions and player movement and this already takes much performance as it seems - but still runs on 200 fps... but when I download the cal3d scenenode the fps count drops terribly....
I cannot tell you why! I can just say that- when I commented out the render and onpostrender methods the framerate was at the top again... :!:
terrorchrist
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 10:07 pm
Location: Vienna

Post by terrorchrist »

hey klasker!
I recently tried to use your IrrCal3d.dll and lib to load cal3d models and what the crazy thing about this is--> our game has still 150 fps when we load a model!
unfortunately the framerate still drops too fast, as when we have 10 models, the framerate is at about 30 fps and that*s simply not enough...
thank you anyways! ^^
maby one day we'll finish it and I*ll inform you ^^
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

You probably compiled your dll in debug mode or with too few optimizations enabled.
terrorchrist
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 10:07 pm
Location: Vienna

Post by terrorchrist »

yes that*s true!
we had to use the cal3d_d.dll because whenever we used the cal3d.dll the application crashed at CalCoreModel *model = new CalColrModel(); because of an "invalid memory allocation exception" somwhere in the std:: namespace....
thanks for your support guys! :D
Baal Cadar
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 10:28 am
Contact:

Post by Baal Cadar »

You probably get this exception because you mix different c++ runtime lib versions. Make sure you use the same for all components of your project.
For optimised release config version use Multithreaded DLL (/MD) for debug config use Multithreaded Debug DLL (/MDd)

Measuring performance of debug config is pointless. There is no constant factor X to get ReleaseFPS = X * DebugFPS. First try an optimised release config of your project before assuming a performance problem.
No offense :)
terrorchrist
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 10:07 pm
Location: Vienna

Post by terrorchrist »

^^
I already did try an optimized release version ^^
but you could be right with the debug dell compiler setting, or however it is called

thanks ^^
Post Reply