Irrlicht 1.0 + Newton Tutorial Code, missing boxes

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
fidel castro
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:42 pm

Irrlicht 1.0 + Newton Tutorial Code, missing boxes

Post by fidel castro »

Hello,


im pretty new to c++ and irrlicht at all.


i set up Dev-CPP 4.9.x, irrlicht and newton following those tutorials:
--

Code: Select all

http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/tut_devcpp.html
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/tut_newtondevcpp.html
both test-programms are working completly.




then i went forward to test the Newton Code from this tutorial:
--

Code: Select all

http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/tut_newton.html
At first iwas running the precompiled binaries, works like supposed.
Then i made my project file, inserted the 4 files from mercior in addition with the 2 folders(data & textures)

After compiling i had some small problems with the follwong part:
--

Code: Select all

NewtonBodySetFreezeTreshold(tmp->body, 1.0, 1.0, 1.0, 1.0);


Go some hints in IRC and reworked it to:
--

Code: Select all

NewtonBodySetFreezeTreshold(tmp->body, 1.0, 1.0, 1.0); 
and later to:

Code: Select all

// NewtonBodySetFreezeTreshold(tmp->body, 1.0, 1.0, 1.0); 
:P

Now the code is compiling without any problems.


My only problem is the fact that im missing all boxes/crates in the running application. I dont see any boxes and i cant "throw" any boxes.


any idea howto fix this issue ?


best regards
fidel

erm: the dos box shows that the box-mesh itself is loaded.
zeno60
Posts: 342
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 2:48 am
Location: NC, USA
Contact:

Post by zeno60 »

Did you get an compile error close to "cannot convert double to int for ..." ?

If so, try changing the 1.0 (double) to 1 (int).
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

number conversions do not impose compile errors, just warnings (if you don't set a compile flag to turn warnings into errors, of course). But indeed the error message would have helped.
Post Reply