render problem with 0.4 (not render at all)

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
rogerdv
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 4:20 pm

render problem with 0.4 (not render at all)

Post by rogerdv »

After downloading version 0.4, I recompiled my simple demo with the new libs. Now it doesnt renders nothing, just got an empty window and CPU use boost to 100%. I noticed something funny, althoug I cant see the widgets, they receive events. Here is the rendering code:

while(device->run() )
if (device->isWindowActive())
{

driver->beginScene(true, true, SColor(0,122,65,171));
rendermap(sx,sy,sx+16, sy+16);
if (rot==RRIGHT) rotation++;
else if (rot==RLEFT) rotation--;
float angle= (3.14*rotation)/180;
//Get a perfect circular movement
float xd= radius * sinf(angle); //Now we get the x position of the camera
float zd= radius * cosf(angle); //Get the z position
cam->setRelativePosition(vector3df(xd,80,zd));
smgr->drawAll();
guienv->drawAll();
driver->endScene();
}

Another strange issue is that if I remove the line if (device->isWindowActive())
I got a segmentation fault.
saigumi
Posts: 921
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 11:31 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Post by saigumi »

cam->setRelativePosition(vector3df(xd,80,zd));
setRelativePosition was removed in 0.4.
Now, there is only setPosition.

Code: Select all

cam->setPosition(vector3df(xd,80,zd));
The other thing I was remembering is a suggestion from a team-mate, Pharoseer. Make sure that if you have the irrlicht DLL anywhere else (like c:\windows\system32) that it is updated, also.
Crud, how do I do this again?
rogerdv
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 4:20 pm

Post by rogerdv »

My own stupid mistake. I copied the library files and forgot to also update the include files. So I was linkin against new libs but using old headers.
Post Reply