IrrWizard?

Announce new projects or updates of Irrlicht Engine related tools, games, and applications.
Also check the Wiki
trooper
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by trooper »

Hi Area 51

Thanks for the tip, I will give it a go.

I feel your pain, my spare time is a little short at the moment too !

Yeah I never tried with the sky box really, once I started using a skyDome, I had a much better effect, so I never went back to a box.

Thanks, if I get it working, I'll post a fix, if anyone has issues trying to get terrains running

:wink:
You scratch my back, I'll scratch yours.
area51
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:20 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by area51 »

thank you, if you find things, any fixes, improvements would very much be appreciated
________
Babi Mac
Last edited by area51 on Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
trooper
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by trooper »

Hi Area51,

OK well it's not the SkyBox. :idea:

If I add a break and debug here:

GameWeaponOwnedStates.cpp
switch (node->getID())

your right 'node' is returning null (or actually 0x000000)


my new GameStateLevel02 is pretty much the same as GameStateLevel01,

now in GamePlayState I adden a new CGamePlayState::loadTerrainMap()
but added a terrain instead of the original stuff

Code: Select all

// add terrain scene node
	scene::ITerrainSceneNode* terrain = pManager->getSceneManager()->addTerrainSceneNode(
		"media/terrain/terrain1_HeightMap129.bmp",0,-1, 
		core::vector3df(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f), // position
		core::vector3df(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f), //rotation
		core::vector3df(80, 1.0f, 80), //scale
		video::SColor(255, 255, 255, 255),5,scene::ETPS_33); // color - LOD - Patch Size
	terrain->setMaterialFlag(video::EMF_LIGHTING, false);
	terrain->setMaterialTexture(0, pManager->getDriver()->getTexture("media/terrain/grass2.jpg"));
	terrain->setMaterialTexture(1, pManager->getDriver()->getTexture("media/terrain/grass_detail3.jpg"));
	terrain->setMaterialType(video::EMT_DETAIL_MAP);
	terrain->scaleTexture(1.0f, 10.0f);
	terrain->setID(ID_TERRAIN_NODE);



	// Load in game Level from resources
	m_Selector = 0;
	scene::IAnimatedMesh* mesh = pManager->getSceneManager()->getMesh(map);
	scene::ISceneNode* node = 0;
	if (mesh)
		node = pManager->getSceneManager()->addOctTreeSceneNode(mesh->getMesh(0));
	if (node) 
	{
		//node->setPosition(mapPosition);
		node->setPosition(core::vector3df(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f));
        m_Selector = pManager->getSceneManager()->createOctTreeTriangleSelector(
            mesh->getMesh(0), node, 128);
		node->setTriangleSelector(m_Selector);
		m_Selector->drop();
	}
	pManager->setMetaSelector();
	pManager->getMetaSelector()->addTriangleSelector(m_Selector);

My problem is here somewhere: :?:

scene::IAnimatedMesh* mesh = pManager->getSceneManager()->getMesh(map);

node = pManager->getSceneManager()->addOctTreeSceneNode(mesh->getMesh(0));

I'm not sure how to set node or mesh, to use the terrain, and not the 'quake map'

if I actually parse the map and load it, ie I have a quake map ON my terrain, I can run around shooting the building and get explosions, the moment I shoot the terrain, it crashes out.

How can I get this bit of code to return something for the terrain.

I have tried a few things but just get a mismatch, as terrain is not an AnimatedMesh ..aarrghh

Thanks for any help, but my head is bruised from banging it on my desk :oops:

Note: I did even use SetID on the terrain node, in case that's why it returned null.

Cheers :wink:
You scratch my back, I'll scratch yours.
trooper
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

DisplayFPS

Post by trooper »

I noticed the DisplayFPS in the full framework was commented out.

I have this working and displaying 2D text if anyone needs it,
Just shout :wink:


If anyone could also help on my above post about terrain node and my shooting problem, would be great :wink:
You scratch my back, I'll scratch yours.
area51
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:20 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by area51 »

I would like to help, but can't get near a compiler anytime soon, working away at the moment.

In the short term I would just put an if(node) condition around the code that crashes, then it shouldnt crash. Only thing is the explosions wont happen on the terrain.

Im sure the terrain should return a valid node if added to the scenemanager, I thought it was like any other mesh, this is where I would get debugging, but am unable at the moment.

Sorry
________
FREE THEMES
Last edited by area51 on Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
MoeRon
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 12:51 pm
Location: Germany

Post by MoeRon »

Hi :)

I need a little help with your program :(

I'm just trying to compile it in DevC++ after installing it, but it doesn't create a exe because there is something wrong in the audieresoundmanager.cpp ... i can't find a mistake and i can't even test it so :cry:

Code: Select all

//! Load, same as Init()
bool CAudiereSoundManager::Load(CGameManager* pManager)
{
		if(m_pAudiereDevice!=NULL)
			return false;
		else
			Init();
			
		return true;
}
this part is it. Theres something wrong with the NULL making it into an integer or something o-O
I also get alot of linker errors ... HELP :oops:
trooper
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by trooper »

Hey MoeRon,

You never said what the compile error was, but try a space after
m_pAudiereDevice

Code: Select all

if(m_pAudiereDevice != NULL) 
Also check you have the Audiere Library file.
You scratch my back, I'll scratch yours.
MoeRon
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 12:51 pm
Location: Germany

Post by MoeRon »

Thanks for the response :)

Here's what it says after compiling
...\AudiereSoundManager.cpp In member function `virtual bool CAudiereSoundManager::Load(CGameManager*)':

27 ...\AudiereSoundManager.cpp [Warning] converting to non-pointer type `int' from NULL

27 ...\AudiereSoundManager.cpp [Warning] NULL used in arithmetic

In function `ZN7audiere6RefPtrINS_12OutputStreamEEaSEPS1_':

[Linker error] undefined reference to `_imp__AdrOpenSound@12'

[Linker error] undefined reference to `_imp__AdrOpenSampleSource@8'

[Linker error] undefined reference to `_imp__AdrOpenDevice@8'

27 ld returned 1 exit status

...\Makefile.win [Build Error] [testgame3.exe] Error 1
I hope it's not a dump mistake like forgetting a library or something :/

I'm using devc++ and i added
the lib/win32 path under the library part. I also downloaded audiere and added the librarys from it.

and under the include part i added
the irrlicht/include and the audiere/include path ... :S

Oh, and i tried your tip with the space and it still makes the same errors :(
dazedandconfused
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 1:41 am

Physics

Post by dazedandconfused »

Hey anyone used physics with the irrWizard framework yet?

Got any suggestions for the best engine, I am thinking Newtons because it seems the most popular, but I have problems, just setting up and compiling the examples.

So if anyone has suggestions or examples, on the best way to implement with irrWizard

CHEERS :wink:
MoeRon
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 12:51 pm
Location: Germany

Post by MoeRon »

Just wanted to say that i got it compiled :D

I deleted the lib/audiere out of the compile options ... :oops:
XFactor
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:30 am

Post by XFactor »

Hey, first off great work; this is really helpful.

I couldn't get it to compile tho.

Code: Select all

void CGamePlayState::loadMap(CGameManager* pManager, const c8* map, core::vector3df mapPosition)
{	
    loadMap(pManager, map, mapPosition, vector3df(0,0,0));
}
That gives me this error:

Code: Select all

error C2955: 'map' : use of class template requires template argument list
Any idea what it is?

Thanks.
IRRLICHT ROCKS!!!!
trooper
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 7:34 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Post by trooper »

Hey guys,

Anyone tried irrWizard with irrlicht 1.2 yet ?

I tried to compile a few times, and most of my problems came from the Fade In / Out stuff.

I'll be trying again soon, just wondered if anyone else had any luck ?

:?:
You scratch my back, I'll scratch yours.
whiteston
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:12 am
Location: Montana

1.2

Post by whiteston »

I tried compiling with 1.2 and couldn't get it to fly.
Trefall
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:49 pm

Post by Trefall »

I've spent some time now trying to get GUI elements to work with the wizard, but I'm having problems. I can display the GUI elements without any problem, but it's when I try to interact with them that I fail.

My guess is that the gui event I've added to the OnEvent in the game manager is done wrong. I looked at how the mouse and keyboard event receivers were already implemented, and looked at the MeshViewer example for irrlicht 1.1 (which is the version I'm using) to see how gui events are handled, but so far no luck. Any help on this would be highly appreciated.

Here is my source code if that would help. For controls, hit ESC or M to go out of Camera mouse control. Main files of interest (I would guess) is AppManager, AppState and AppRunState.

(EDIT: Sorry, forgot to put with it my modified irrMath.h. It's only a temporary solution for some constants I use for planets, and in the few instances they are used one might just as well comment them out. Here is the file though.)

Image
abraham
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:56 am

Post by abraham »

i tried to compile it aswell with 1.1 and it failed but i really want to takw out the menus and stuff to copy it in my projects but its complicated with irrcamera and i like how everything is very neat.
n7600gt 256mb ram 128bit
AMD 3200+
GA-K8NF-9 gigabyte
Post Reply