Found two texture bugs while upgrading to irrlicht 1.2

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Post Reply
Legion
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 5:03 pm

Found two texture bugs while upgrading to irrlicht 1.2

Post by Legion »

Upgrading my game to use irrlicht 1.2 and i ran into a few problems.
With OpenGL, BMP textures just won't draw properly.
Narrowing it down it seem that if the texture width isn't even, it will not draw as it should.
Eg. 26x69 will work, but not 25x69.
This seems to be related to BMP only.
Quite weird, since eg PNG will work, but the BMPs are loaded correctly, since it works from Direct3D.
Must be something weird goingon with OpenGL.
This wasn't the case with 1.1, where i always used OpenGL (i utterly hate the direct3d d3dx dependencies).
Image
This is a test with sprites, the head sprite is clearly wrong.
Im using a sprite scenenode, basicly the standard billboard class,
but with some changes and additions.

Another issue is related to Direct3d, im not sure if this also was the case with irr 1.1,
since i've already reset my target and had to tweak a bit to get irr 1.2 working -_-
Anyway, textures with a zero alpha component(100% transparent), if they are far down the Z axis (camera is directed (0,0,-1))
the pixels with alpha 0, will suddenly turn solid.
Moving the sprite down the axis it will go from transparent into solid.
If this is related to mipmap i can't tell. But it's like a gradient, the further from the camera the more "solid".
With OpenGL this isn't the case, the pixels will always be fully transparent.
EDIT: The direct3d problem was mipmaps as i suspected.
I don't know if makeColorKeyTexture is supposed to autoregenerate mipmaps or not.
But if it shouldn't, it *should atleast* be documented.
Last edited by Legion on Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:27 pm, edited 4 times in total.
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Interesting things. Could you post screenshots of the bmp problem? Just to be sure I can see the same :)
Legion
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 5:03 pm

Post by Legion »

Going to try to hunt this bug down.
So damn weird that PNG,TGA etc will work but not BMP.
Something is fishy, since BMP will work from direct3d :O
Check the mainpost for screenshot,
to replicate it do a billboard scenenode with a odd width BMP texture.
Post Reply