irrb 0.4 (Blender Exporter)

Announce new projects or updates of Irrlicht Engine related tools, games, and applications.
Also check the Wiki
sudi
Posts: 1686
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 8:38 pm

Post by sudi »

actually this lightning problem only applies when using the fixed render pipeline. or vertex light calculation in your shaders.
We're programmers. Programmers are, in their hearts, architects, and the first thing they want to do when they get to a site is to bulldoze the place flat and build something grand. We're not excited by renovation:tinkering,improving,planting flower beds.
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

Great, bitplane!
I had almost forgotten of your nice explanations! ;)

I guess the conversion is done then when exporting from blender to irrb, no matter how our model is created. :)
Yet I find it awkward that blender is not capable of calculating the UV pack if the model is triangulated :(

Thanks a lot.
regards,
Alvaro
Image
pc0de
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:41 pm

Re: texture transition

Post by pc0de »

gandolfix wrote:To small worlds it ok. But... if I create UV texture with bake, I create only 1 texture, then if I have a big world, I cant use only 1 texture...
Glad to see you got it working. Regarding your concern about only baking a single texture - A single mesh may be assigned up to 16 procedural materials (see Multiple Materials). This means you can effectively UV map, bake, and export up to 16 textures per mesh. And after all of that is done, you can optionally separate sections of the mesh (split into multiple meshes) to aid in frustum culling.
afecelis wrote:I didn't know texture blending was possible! Irrb surprises me by the minute!
That's all magic done by Blender, irrb just exports the resulting texture. :)
afecelis wrote:quads & tris
As bitplane suggested, irrb automatically converts quads to tris when necessary. When I converted your mesh to tris in Blender (CTRL-T), it automatically updated the UV map. However, when I tried to redo the UV Unwrap, I had to kill Blender after 10+ minutes of waiting. Must be a bug in Blender. :(
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

However, when I tried to redo the UV Unwrap, I had to kill Blender after 10+ minutes of waiting. Must be a bug in Blender.
I thought so. :(

I also tried to export the following scene (b3d version):
Image
And got the following error message:
Image

It seems similar to the polycount limit in the 3ds format. Is there such a limitation in irrb?

regards,

Alvaro
Image
pc0de
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:41 pm

Post by pc0de »

Yes, currently irrb imposes the 64k vertex per mesh buffer limit. I guess I could update irrb to programmatically split the buffer and issue a warning, but I'm not sure this is the best solution.

Please have a look at this old thread and let me know what you think: 32 bit indicies patch for the 1.2v...
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Oh, we have 32bit indices already in Irrlicht 1.5...
pc0de
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:41 pm

Post by pc0de »

So if I update irrb to allow a meshbuffer to contain more then 64k vertices, then CIrrMeshFileLoader will need to be patched to use CDynamicMeshBuffer or CMeshBuffer based on <indices indexCount="x">. Correct?
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Yes, something like that.
gandolfix
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 8:08 pm

scene

Post by gandolfix »

Hello!!

This is my first scene using this very nice tool irrb.
It's for a Bocce game.
Image
Image
Tranen
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 5:43 pm

Post by Tranen »

Hi i receive an error when i simply try to change the path of the relative base. I select the field, and even if don't change the path when i leave the field (for example if I click on Scene Directoy) I receive an error "Python script error, check console. Here is what is written on the console:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Documents and Settings\User\Documenti\Librerie\blender-2.48a-windows\
.blender\scripts\irrbmodules\iGUI.py", line 569, in buttonEvent
tempDir = checkDirectory(bBaseDir.val)
File "C:\Documents and Settings\User\Documenti\Librerie\blender-2.48a-windows\
.blender\scripts\irrbmodules\iGUI.py", line 492, in checkDirectory
os.makedirs(tempDir)
File "C:\Documents and Settings\User\Documenti\Librerie\blender-2.48a-windows\
python25.zip\os.py", line 166, in makedirs
WindowsError: [Error 183] Impossibile creare un file, se il file esiste gi: 'C:\
\Documents and Settings\\User\\'


"Impossibile creare un file, se il file esiste già" means "unable to create file because file already exists"...

Can you help me?
Thanks
pc0de
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:41 pm

Post by pc0de »

Hello Tranen, replace your existing "iGUI.py" located in (C:\Documents and Settings\User\Documenti\Librerie\blender-2.48a-windows\.blender\scripts\irrbmodules\) with this one:

http://tubras.googlecode.com/svn/tags/irrb-0.3/trunk/tools/irrb/irrbmodules/iGUI.py

Let me know if you still have problems.
erwincoumans
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 6:46 am
Contact:

Post by erwincoumans »

hybrid wrote:Oh, we have 32bit indices already in Irrlicht 1.5...
I had a similar problem, but I could only find the 16-bit indices version of 'drawIndexedTriangleList' (using the CSampleSceneNode of 03.CustomSceneNode). How can you use 32bit indices?

Thanks,
Erwin
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

You have to use a special meshbuffer, CDynamicMeshBuffer.
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

Import?

Post by 3DModelerMan »

Can I import .irr scenes into irrb? I have one that I want to lightmap made in Irredit.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
pc0de
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:41 pm

Post by pc0de »

Sorry, but irrb only _exports_ scene & mesh data.
Post Reply