IrrODE - an Irrlicht - ODE wrapper (now with SVN)
Thanks. Your input helped me a lot (and also the input of the Beta-Tester I have on the german forum
). I think I won't add any new functionality for now and start a game using IrrODE (as soon as I find the time to). My idea was to make another "marble madness" clone, with 2 player support for racing and some other new stuff. But I'm scared of level designing, that always takes most of the time ![Very Happy :D](./images/smilies/icon_biggrin.gif)
![Wink ;)](./images/smilies/icon_wink.gif)
![Very Happy :D](./images/smilies/icon_biggrin.gif)
- I here ya.Brainsaw wrote:Thanks. Your input helped me a lot (and also the input of the Beta-Tester I have on the german forum). I think I won't add any new functionality for now and start a game using IrrODE (as soon as I find the time to). My idea was to make another "marble madness" clone, with 2 player support for racing and some other new stuff. But I'm scared of level designing, that always takes most of the time
Did you have luck with the sectors out of the terrain creating lots of sectors out of the terrain to help the load time? If not will you have to abandon this for now?
No, I didn't manage to finish that, and I'm afraid that I do currently not have the time to dig deeper. You could e.g. use a smaller map or try to create the sectors in IrrEdit. By adding all the terrain sectors to an "Empty Scene Node" you would still have a single node to modify the position of the terrain.
-
- Posts: 226
- Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:50 pm
- Contact:
Hi,
I already asked in the german irrlicht forum, but Brainsaw seems to be the only one that knows ode well enough and since he was not able to find a solution, I try it here.
I made a little test with joints: http://www.freetimestudio.de/odetest.zip (exe and code)
I connected them like this Red-Joint-Green-Joint-Blue. The connection Red to Green works perfectly. But Green to Blue lacks stability. I made the connections visible with 3d lines. It seems that the second expandes and shrinks at will. But why?
hope for help
greetings
FTC
I already asked in the german irrlicht forum, but Brainsaw seems to be the only one that knows ode well enough and since he was not able to find a solution, I try it here.
I made a little test with joints: http://www.freetimestudio.de/odetest.zip (exe and code)
I connected them like this Red-Joint-Green-Joint-Blue. The connection Red to Green works perfectly. But Green to Blue lacks stability. I made the connections visible with 3d lines. It seems that the second expandes and shrinks at will. But why?
hope for help
greetings
FTC
Hello,
I tried your project and I can't tell you what's the problem. Maybe the ODE forum (http://groups.google.com/group/ode-users) would be a better place to ask.
I tried your project and I can't tell you what's the problem. Maybe the ODE forum (http://groups.google.com/group/ode-users) would be a better place to ask.
-
- Posts: 226
- Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:50 pm
- Contact:
Is it a general problem or does this behaviour only occurs on my joints?
Another thing I've noticed: I wanted to start using more shapes than sphere, box and trimesh, but
causes
greetings
Another thing I've noticed: I wanted to start using more shapes than sphere, box and trimesh, but
Code: Select all
CIrrOdeGeomCapsule *BarrelGeom=reinterpret_cast<CIrrOdeGeomCapsule *>(smgr->addSceneNode(CIrrOdeSceneNode::nodeNameToC8(IRR_ODE_GEOM_CAPSULE_NAME),BarrelNode));
I did not change many things, just CIrrOdeGeomCapsule and IRR_ODE_GEOM_CAPSULE_NAME, with Sphere or Box it works fine---------------------------
ODE INTERNAL ERROR 2
---------------------------
Bad argument(s) in dxCapsule()
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
![Confused :?](./images/smilies/icon_confused.gif)
greetings
I think it's a general problem. Maybe it's caused by calculation-inaccuracy. If you take a look at the IrrOdeMarble demo game there is a bridge that is made of connected boxes, and that bridge is "wobbling", even though it shouldn't (in this case the effect is nice). Maybe using ODE_double would help, but you have to compile IrrODE with "double" yourself (maybe I should add both "single" and "double" support "out of the box").
I'll take a look into the capsule-issue, but you could also compare your code with the capsule-creating code in IrrOdePlayground (I am not at home this weekend, so I won't be able to check this before next week).
I'll take a look into the capsule-issue, but you could also compare your code with the capsule-creating code in IrrOdePlayground (I am not at home this weekend, so I won't be able to check this before next week).
-
- Posts: 226
- Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:50 pm
- Contact:
Ok, I'll try compiling it with double.
I already checked the Playground sample many times since it includes quite everything I needed so far, but I cannot make it working. I changed the code and aligned it to the IrrPlayground code: same error.
btw, I am using Windows Code::Blocks. Maybe that helps finding the problem.
greetings
I already checked the Playground sample many times since it includes quite everything I needed so far, but I cannot make it working. I changed the code and aligned it to the IrrPlayground code: same error.
btw, I am using Windows Code::Blocks. Maybe that helps finding the problem.
greetings
-
- Posts: 226
- Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:50 pm
- Contact:
Here it is: www.freetimestudio.de/odecapsule.zip I just modified the helloWorld project. (replaced the sphere with the capsule)
I also figured out that it requires D3DX81ab.dll. Why is that?
greetings
I also figured out that it requires D3DX81ab.dll. Why is that?
greetings
-
- Posts: 226
- Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:50 pm
- Contact:
@freetimecoder:
I found out why your capsule test is not working. It is a problem with the length and the radius of the capsule. You have to think of the capsule as a cylinder which has half a sphere added on both ends, so I calculate the radius of the capsule as it's "X" size and the length is it's "Z" size and two times the radius is subtracted. In your case this brought out a negative length, and ODE doesn't like that. I got it running by changing the Capsule Node's scale to
I will upload a new version within the next hour that does take care that the length does not become negative.
I found out why your capsule test is not working. It is a problem with the length and the radius of the capsule. You have to think of the capsule as a cylinder which has half a sphere added on both ends, so I calculate the radius of the capsule as it's "X" size and the length is it's "Z" size and two times the radius is subtracted. In your case this brought out a negative length, and ODE doesn't like that. I got it running by changing the Capsule Node's scale to
Code: Select all
Node->setScale(vector3df(1.0f,1.0f,1.5f));