I need help getting started
-
- Posts: 26
- Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:13 am
-
- Posts: 26
- Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:13 am
-
- Posts: 1215
- Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:03 pm
- Location: Leuven, Belgium
btw:
Came across some thingy I forgot all about and thought about your question about the fps cam. Did you fix that camera? If not, and maybe when you have two cameras rendering something, you would have to finish with the FPS cam. At least set it active again before calling device->run().
Came across some thingy I forgot all about and thought about your question about the fps cam. Did you fix that camera? If not, and maybe when you have two cameras rendering something, you would have to finish with the FPS cam. At least set it active again before calling device->run().
No I am no noob, just checking if your not one too
Thanks to Niko and all others that made Irrlicht possible.
Thanks to Niko and all others that made Irrlicht possible.
-
- Posts: 1215
- Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:03 pm
- Location: Leuven, Belgium
The problem with the FPS cam inside a windows form is that the form is 'stealing' the input messages before they get to the engine, I got this functioning a couple of years ago by rerouting the form message handlingAnthony wrote:btw:
Came across some thingy I forgot all about and thought about your question about the fps cam. Did you fix that camera? If not, and maybe when you have two cameras rendering something, you would have to finish with the FPS cam. At least set it active again before calling device->run().
-
- Posts: 26
- Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:13 am
-
- Posts: 1215
- Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:03 pm
- Location: Leuven, Belgium
Go for a physics engine, irrlichts collision detection can't compete with engines Bullet, ODE, Newton, etc.hungryninja wrote:How could I do a beam shot? It hits instantly.
Can I have my own code run when something collides with something else?
How do I add meshes with collision detection after I add collision detection for the building or terrain? I want to create objects in the middle of a game.
I'd also suggest you start off slow and simple, I'm getting the impression you want to do a lot of things at once, which will eventually cause problems
-
- Posts: 26
- Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:13 am
-
- Posts: 1215
- Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:03 pm
- Location: Leuven, Belgium
[quote="hungryninja"]How can I use a physics engine with a .net wrapper for irrlicht?[/quote
That makes it kind of complicated, I'm not aware of any .NET wrappers for these physics engines, although they could exist (maybe someone else on the forum knows of any?)
Just out of interest, which .NET wrapper for irrlicht are you using?
That makes it kind of complicated, I'm not aware of any .NET wrappers for these physics engines, although they could exist (maybe someone else on the forum knows of any?)
Just out of interest, which .NET wrapper for irrlicht are you using?
-
- Posts: 1215
- Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:03 pm
- Location: Leuven, Belgium
Do you have any experience with C++?hungryninja wrote:IrrlichtLime 0.7
I mostly advise people on these forums who use other languages to switch to C++, since I've been in a similar situation, my main language when I started out with irrlicht was C# (this was back when there was a very up-to-date official .NET wrapper for irrlicht available) and I noticed soon enough that I didn't have the full power of irrlicht in this language, nor was it easy to add additional functionality, like physics engines
Maybe you should consider this also, the step from C# to C++ isn't that big, the syntax changes aren't drastic, and the only real hurdle is learning how to manage without dynamic garbage collection
Last edited by Radikalizm on Wed Feb 09, 2011 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 26
- Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:13 am
-
- Posts: 1215
- Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:03 pm
- Location: Leuven, Belgium
-
- Posts: 26
- Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:13 am