Page 3 of 8

Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 10:12 pm
by Ale
etcaptor wrote:After compiling Irrlicht with BCB, you don't need some of these tools. All is ready after compiliing.
Thank you Etcaptor.
I finally managed to compile Irrlich sources with Builder6 :
I had to modify my files OpenGL32.lib and Glut32.lib from Coff to Omf, and I got more than 400 warning messages during the compilation, but no errors. :D
It works ok with DirectX8, DirectX9, and OpenGL, but with EDT_SOFTWARE, the image is scrambeled, as shown below :

With EDT_EDT_DIRECTX9
http://alainlecomte.free.fr/directx9.jpg

With EDT_SOFTWARE
http://alainlecomte.free.fr/software.jpg

I also have problems to load some BSP files : They are ok with Dev-Cpp, but cannot be loaded with Builder6. :?:
Some other BSP files give no problem.

Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 5:02 pm
by etcaptor
Congratulations!
I'm glad to help you!
I have not a problems with BSP.
When you make your first steps with BCB and Irrlicht together, then you can make all your projects with BCB.

I hope, that Niko can include bcb support for Irrlicht.

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:37 am
by Ale
I am still trying to discover why I cannot load some BSP files in Irrlicht 0.6 using Borland Builder 6.
I have discovered the following facts :

- If i modify the PK3 file and move the BSP file from the 'MAPS/' directory to the root of the PK3, the BSP file will load : I get a valid pointer with 'smgr->getMesh();'

- However, many parts of the scene will be missing, compared with what is rendered using Dev-Cpp and exactly the same modified PK3 (see picture)

Image

This phenomena occurs identically with DirectX8, DirectX9 and OpenGl.
I have checked the PK3 file, and all the requested Jpg and Tga files does exist and stay in the right directory, according to what is indicated in the BSP file.

Can somebody shed some light on this problem :?:

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 9:57 pm
by etcaptor
I think that is some wrong in your paths...
You can e-mail me pk3 file and I will try it.
ivailo_bourov@yahoo.com

By the way - have you similar problem with Irrlicht quake bsp example?? I have not.

Posted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 10:44 pm
by etcaptor
Strange! Very Strange!
I got your pk3 file and has same problem. I have not tested with DevCPP.
All OK, from first view.

I got all textures with function like:

Code: Select all

   IAnimatedMeshSceneNode* LoadedNode;
   if(Form1->OpenMeshDialog->Execute())
    LoadedNode  = smgr->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode(smgr->getMesh(
      Form1->OpenMeshDialog->FileName.c_str()),
      smgr->getRootSceneNode());
With OpenDialog control All is OK!

If I put directories directly /instead OpenFileDialogFileName.c_str()/, always lose some textures.
You solve problem?
I'll try another things again. Please post, if you have any idea :)

Posted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 11:33 pm
by etcaptor
OK,
the problem was solved.
You must just to appoint right directory like:

ChDir("media"); 8)

Posted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:18 am
by Guest
I am glad that you found the answer, but I cannot get it working.
If my pk3 file is located in directory c:\xxx, do you mean that i just have to put :
ChDir("C:\\xxx");
or do you mean something else :?:

Posted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 12:08 pm
by etcaptor
I got success only when use addAnimatedMeshSceneNode. With other methods cannot. resolve the problem
I'm sure that is some wrong in texture paths in your file.
You can explore all with function like this:

if(OpenDialog1->Execute())
{
IAnimatedMeshSceneNode* LoadedNode =
smgr->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode(
smgr->getMesh(OpenDialog1->FileName.c_str()),
smgr->getRootSceneNode());
}

Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 9:56 pm
by Sury
I converted some official Irrlicht tutorials to Borland C++ Builder 6.0 using the modified Borland version of irrlicht provided by Etcaptor ,(ones again big thanks) , they compile just fine but now i'm having some "Code completion" problems.
I added all the irrlicht headers to the project , but still when i press ctr+space for example in ...(video::ED| and there pops again this annoying error message stating : "Unable to invoke Code completion due to errors in source code !" , it works fine when invoked between the function calls though ,but who needs that ?
Plus Code completion seems to not work when invoked in a header file ?! Other then that Builder seem to work pretty great.
My question is : is there a way to make Code Insight and Code Completion to work correctly in BCB6.0 ?
Thanks

Posted: Sat Sep 11, 2004 8:07 pm
by etcaptor
I have similar BCB Code completion problems with not Irrlicht projects. I think, that is not Irr;icht related.
The good news are that C++Builder port for Irrlicht v.07 is complete. I'am on the job this weekend and have no spare time, but for BCB with v.07 I use the same way like with v.06. Tomorrow I'll upload C++Builder port for v.07 on my site.

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 7:05 am
by SuryIIID
The good news are that C++Builder port for Irrlicht v.07 is complete. I'am on the job this weekend and have no spare time, but for BCB with v.07 I use the same way like with v.06. Tomorrow I'll upload C++Builder port for v.07 on my site.
Great :D
BTW My personal opinion is that Borland port of Irrlicht is a big step forward and it should be part of the IrrlichtNX project at least.

Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 4:44 pm
by etcaptor
OK,
Here is the link for BCB6 port for Irrlicht v.07

http://etcaptor.f2g.net/Tutorials/Irrli ... Irr0.7.zip

If there any errors, please keep me informed.

I still not tried IrrlichtNX, but there are many additional useful things. Will be nice add any Borland support. BTW, BCB 5 compiler is free!

Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:11 pm
by SuryIIID
Most .bsp maps doesn't load...
the .bsp that comes with irrlicht loads just fine, while all the .bsp from Q3 demo doesn't , the original irrlicht.dll has no problems with both :?

I'm trying to figure it out, i think it has something to do with variable scope differences between BCB and VC++

PS. i'm using version 0.6

Posted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 12:38 am
by etcaptor
Hm, strange...
With v.07 I got full working Ale's example unlike with v.06.
I'm still having problem with direct use of getmesh() function with Ale's example. Only with OpenDialog function I can get this mesh :?: Sure there some bugs, but where...

Posted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 6:29 am
by etcaptor
I think that answer is in zlib.
If all contents in pk3 file is extracted and then chdir("../../xxxx") is used before before getMesh() function all is ok.