Post Your Irrlicht Screenshots / Render Here.

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding to Image manipulation, 3d modeling and level editing for the Irrlicht engine here.
Mel
Competition winner
Posts: 2292
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Post by Mel »

Cloudef wrote:Hey that looks good :P
But yeah the max render looks better (well usually..), maybe you get similar render on irrlicht too :wink:
That is the point. If Irrlicht passed the 2 UV coordinate sets that a model may have in other prebuilt materials to the shaders, i could mix the shadow maps in. But currently, it seems it doesn't. Or i have missed some part in the engine...

None the less. i'm still working on another things, like, perhaps, linear falloff on the lights, which make the lights dim with the distance. That way, everything looks a lot more solid than just having no falloff at all.

Those bloom effects are sweet, dlangdev! I'm still trying to do a nice one on my own, but either i'm not blurring enough, or the luminance function is not working at all :?
"There is nothing truly useless, it always serves as a bad example". Arthur A. Schmitt
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Irrlicht supports models with 2 UV coord sets. And these should be accessible in shaders.
Mel
Competition winner
Posts: 2292
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Post by Mel »

i use the TEXCOORD1 semantics (in HLSL) to try to access them (with B3D models), Are they also set? because when i try, i get as if there was another whole mesh over the first rendered one, and trying to overlap Z depths and i get everything except what i had intended to get. Something very odd. I guess i'm doing something wrong.
"There is nothing truly useless, it always serves as a bad example". Arthur A. Schmitt
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Well, they should be set, because shader models will activate all textures available and hopefully also set all texture coords available. Maybe ask BlindSide or one of the other shader guys around.
BlindSide
Admin
Posts: 2821
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:09 am
Location: NZ!

Post by BlindSide »

Yeah you might wanna post some code for examination, it sounds like you're on the right track but made a slight implementation error somewhere. TEXCOORD1 works fine for me. It sounds like you're trying to do too much at once, if you get a problem like this try and make a simple test case for it, for example a shader that just outputs the 2nd set of texcoords in the R and G channels.

Cheers
ShadowMapping for Irrlicht!: Get it here
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
dlangdev
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:28 pm
Location: Beaverton OR
Contact:

Post by dlangdev »

Mel: I played around with gamma correction with the snaphsots I took with my DSLR. They came out OK, though I still need to write more demos/test programs to get to the sweet spot.

I'm also looking into Histogram Equalization (HE), there is no demo program for that one yet. And I highly recommend going the HE route.

Yeah, the blurring you saw was basically expanding and blurring. One of them was simply blurring and then compositing it back to the original, which is pretty easy, not really rocket science. The fun part was goofing around with masking, as in Photoshop layer masking. I couldn't believe the effect it produced was awesome. More on that later.

-----------------

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Histogram_equalization
Image
fmx

Post by fmx »

dlangdev, those pictures you posted earlier somehow seemed to me more as DOF experiments.
Maybe something which could also be looked into if it wasn't the original idea ;)

Mel: I hope you find the solution to your problems, I'm looking forward to seeing what more you can come up with! :)
Mel
Competition winner
Posts: 2292
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Post by Mel »

no, i have already tested. The sets work fine. Let's see if you see something out of place. I'll make a new thread.
"There is nothing truly useless, it always serves as a bad example". Arthur A. Schmitt
roelor
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:06 am

Post by roelor »

well, I was busy with some really low poly models.
Image
there are 31,999 of them with triangle count at 1,3 million.
I still need to learn more of irrlicht so this is not running on the irrlicht engine (right now) so I only got like 23 fps due to speed issues of the engine.
Im also making light independant light maps, (like places that are dark have dark shadows and such.) This screenshot is an 256x256 texture
Image Though I'm not good at texturing so that one im gonna redo.
dlangdev
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:28 pm
Location: Beaverton OR
Contact:

Post by dlangdev »

looks like an Ogre render to me, the way how the FOV was set.
Last edited by dlangdev on Tue Dec 16, 2008 8:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
roelor
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:06 am

Post by roelor »

Nah it isnt. Ive andjusted the FOV else you wouldnt see the end..
Virion
Competition winner
Posts: 2148
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:04 am

Post by Virion »

1.3 million is alot, man. what's your spec running it for 23 fps?
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

You have to experiment with VBOs to get these things rendered properly. Moreover, you have to cluster them in several meshbuffers inside a mesh to avoid scene node setup overhead. Also note that VBOs arenot used for very small meshbuffers, so be sure to have more than 500 vertices in your buffers.
roelor
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:06 am

Post by roelor »

hybrid wrote:You have to experiment with VBOs to get these things rendered properly. Moreover, you have to cluster them in several meshbuffers inside a mesh to avoid scene node setup overhead. Also note that VBOs arenot used for very small meshbuffers, so be sure to have more than 500 vertices in your buffers.
The models are only 23 vertices each. And ive noticed the background getting distorted, I thought if I enable anti aliasing that would be taken care of because it now is too small to be displayed proberly, But as I mentioned this are not screenshots from the irrlicht engine as I dont know how to use it properly yet,

sys specs:
amd athlon 3500+ 64bit (running on 32 bit though)
ati radeon sapphire hd 2600 pro 512+ AGP
+- 700 mb of ram.

Its just the program that I use, It's (dont laugh at me please) game maker mixed with Ultimate 3d engine. Game maker isnt designed for this so I decided to walk over to irrlicht, Now im just making models and learning C++ and how to use Irrlicht. (game maker uses a lot of loops, and it's interface with the dll is.. well.. slow)
EDIT
gonna turn AA on then look at it maybe the distortion will be gone.
EDIT2
Well I was right kinda, Now you get a blurry sandish plane at the end.
Dorth
Posts: 931
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 11:03 pm

Post by Dorth »

You will not find people (or not many) here laughing at you because you are learning and changing engines and such. You might, however, get a good laugh out of us if the first thing you want to do when learning a new language or engine is do the next MMO that will trump WoW ;)
Post Reply