Page 21 of 104

Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 4:08 pm
by Mel
Cloudef wrote:Hey that looks good :P
But yeah the max render looks better (well usually..), maybe you get similar render on irrlicht too :wink:
That is the point. If Irrlicht passed the 2 UV coordinate sets that a model may have in other prebuilt materials to the shaders, i could mix the shadow maps in. But currently, it seems it doesn't. Or i have missed some part in the engine...

None the less. i'm still working on another things, like, perhaps, linear falloff on the lights, which make the lights dim with the distance. That way, everything looks a lot more solid than just having no falloff at all.

Those bloom effects are sweet, dlangdev! I'm still trying to do a nice one on my own, but either i'm not blurring enough, or the luminance function is not working at all :?

Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 4:16 pm
by hybrid
Irrlicht supports models with 2 UV coord sets. And these should be accessible in shaders.

Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 4:34 pm
by Mel
i use the TEXCOORD1 semantics (in HLSL) to try to access them (with B3D models), Are they also set? because when i try, i get as if there was another whole mesh over the first rendered one, and trying to overlap Z depths and i get everything except what i had intended to get. Something very odd. I guess i'm doing something wrong.

Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 5:28 pm
by hybrid
Well, they should be set, because shader models will activate all textures available and hopefully also set all texture coords available. Maybe ask BlindSide or one of the other shader guys around.

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:11 am
by BlindSide
Yeah you might wanna post some code for examination, it sounds like you're on the right track but made a slight implementation error somewhere. TEXCOORD1 works fine for me. It sounds like you're trying to do too much at once, if you get a problem like this try and make a simple test case for it, for example a shader that just outputs the 2nd set of texcoords in the R and G channels.

Cheers

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 7:48 am
by dlangdev
Mel: I played around with gamma correction with the snaphsots I took with my DSLR. They came out OK, though I still need to write more demos/test programs to get to the sweet spot.

I'm also looking into Histogram Equalization (HE), there is no demo program for that one yet. And I highly recommend going the HE route.

Yeah, the blurring you saw was basically expanding and blurring. One of them was simply blurring and then compositing it back to the original, which is pretty easy, not really rocket science. The fun part was goofing around with masking, as in Photoshop layer masking. I couldn't believe the effect it produced was awesome. More on that later.

-----------------

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Histogram_equalization

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:39 am
by fmx
dlangdev, those pictures you posted earlier somehow seemed to me more as DOF experiments.
Maybe something which could also be looked into if it wasn't the original idea ;)

Mel: I hope you find the solution to your problems, I'm looking forward to seeing what more you can come up with! :)

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:55 pm
by Mel
no, i have already tested. The sets work fine. Let's see if you see something out of place. I'll make a new thread.

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:41 pm
by roelor
well, I was busy with some really low poly models.
Image
there are 31,999 of them with triangle count at 1,3 million.
I still need to learn more of irrlicht so this is not running on the irrlicht engine (right now) so I only got like 23 fps due to speed issues of the engine.
Im also making light independant light maps, (like places that are dark have dark shadows and such.) This screenshot is an 256x256 texture
Image Though I'm not good at texturing so that one im gonna redo.

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 7:06 pm
by dlangdev
looks like an Ogre render to me, the way how the FOV was set.

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 7:28 pm
by roelor
Nah it isnt. Ive andjusted the FOV else you wouldnt see the end..

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 7:46 pm
by Virion
1.3 million is alot, man. what's your spec running it for 23 fps?

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 8:39 pm
by hybrid
You have to experiment with VBOs to get these things rendered properly. Moreover, you have to cluster them in several meshbuffers inside a mesh to avoid scene node setup overhead. Also note that VBOs arenot used for very small meshbuffers, so be sure to have more than 500 vertices in your buffers.

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 9:11 pm
by roelor
hybrid wrote:You have to experiment with VBOs to get these things rendered properly. Moreover, you have to cluster them in several meshbuffers inside a mesh to avoid scene node setup overhead. Also note that VBOs arenot used for very small meshbuffers, so be sure to have more than 500 vertices in your buffers.
The models are only 23 vertices each. And ive noticed the background getting distorted, I thought if I enable anti aliasing that would be taken care of because it now is too small to be displayed proberly, But as I mentioned this are not screenshots from the irrlicht engine as I dont know how to use it properly yet,

sys specs:
amd athlon 3500+ 64bit (running on 32 bit though)
ati radeon sapphire hd 2600 pro 512+ AGP
+- 700 mb of ram.

Its just the program that I use, It's (dont laugh at me please) game maker mixed with Ultimate 3d engine. Game maker isnt designed for this so I decided to walk over to irrlicht, Now im just making models and learning C++ and how to use Irrlicht. (game maker uses a lot of loops, and it's interface with the dll is.. well.. slow)
EDIT
gonna turn AA on then look at it maybe the distortion will be gone.
EDIT2
Well I was right kinda, Now you get a blurry sandish plane at the end.

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 10:28 pm
by Dorth
You will not find people (or not many) here laughing at you because you are learning and changing engines and such. You might, however, get a good laugh out of us if the first thing you want to do when learning a new language or engine is do the next MMO that will trump WoW ;)