Page 4 of 6

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 1:39 am
by ZDimitor
Sorry i steel not looked at you scene in MAX, i just go through the source code of Loader and Irrlicht.
Maby water material has a green diffuse color ? ! ...

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:43 am
by afecelis
The lightmaps are loading ok, but if I chek the log screen I get this warning every now and then:

"could not load texture: ./data/lightmaps/xxxx.jpg"

as if I were exporting my lightmaps apart. I export my lightmaps embedded with RLE 24 bit compression. Does it still look for a "lightmaps" folder?

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:46 am
by ZDimitor
Hmmm! Its strange.

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:56 am
by ZDimitor
Post your log here

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:08 am
by ZDimitor
Try to do following:

Find in file CMY3DMeshFileLoader.cpp the line

Code: Select all

if ((sub == LightingMapStr || (Name[pos2-1]=='m' || Name[pos2-2]=='l' || Name[pos2-3]=='_'))
&& 
!GetLightMap)
{
...
}
And patch it with

Code: Select all


if ((sub == LightingMapStr || (Name[pos2-1]=='m' && Name[pos2-2]=='l' && Name[pos2-3]=='_'))
&& 
!GetLightMap)
{
...
}
I think the loader don't like your textures with some names (and he think that its a lightmaps)

After that everything should be ok.

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:13 am
by afecelis
here's a screenshot of the log:
http://www.danielpatton.com/afecelis/Zd ... y3dlog.jpg

I'm going to try the fix you suggest in the cpp file and return. Thanks again; I'm glad we're being able to track several things down :D

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:21 am
by afecelis
great! it worked!!! :D :D

what was the error then? The only missing texture warning I'm getting is this one:
"could not open file of texture: data/(null)"
"could not load texture: data/(null)"

but this one doesnt have to do with My3d, right?

thnx again.

let me know of any other patches

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:38 am
by ZDimitor
Try to do this:

Find this line in

Code: Select all

if (texFName!="null")
and replace it with

Code: Select all

if (Name.size()>0)
There is 3 such lines must be in file CMY3DMeshFileLoader.cpp

Well!!!
I dont want to update My3DTools with such small bug fixes, so i'll do folowing:
I create new donloads links on my site (to CMY3DMehsFileLoader), and everybody can download the freshest version of loader (with all bug fixes)

See http://my3dproject.nm.ru

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:52 am
by afecelis
I changed the 3 lines but the null texture error still shows up.

but anyway, even with the other error it's working very nice!

let me know if there's anything else to try.

:D

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 8:59 am
by wolfsb
ZDimitor. maybe you have clue. using your gile(s) exporter and loading it to IRR while running DirectX everything works fine. running the same MY3D using OPENGL, I experience the following strange problem. whenever the camera focuses a MY3D-gile(s)-lightmapped-object, all GUI elements (2D pics, fonts etc.) turn black. as soon as the camera gets out of the focus of these MY3D-objects all GUI elements turn back to normal. as I said, the problem arises only, when using OPENGL. it is not an issue for DIRECTX. any idea ?

wolfsb, berlin

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 9:11 am
by ZDimitor
2wolfsb:

Its a Irrlicht 0.8 bug (in OpenGL driver), read some posts above, how to fix it.

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 9:15 am
by wolfsb
ok. I will. thank you.

wolfsb, berlin

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:33 pm
by wolfsb
well, ZDimitor, I tried what you suggested. it didn't really help, as far as my special problem is concerned; though your bug-patch might be very useful in a different context. I played with my problem for a while and solved it in a rather bizarre way - maybe you have an explanation. I have a total of 9 "my3d-lightmapped-objects" (gile(s) exported). the problem mentioned earlier does no longer occur, if (only) one of these objects is set to E_MATERIAL_TYPE -> "EMT_LIGHTMAP_ADD". in that particular case everything is fine, also when using OPENGL. as I said, I do not have an explanation for this behaviour, but I can live quite well with the idea of assigning one of 100 objects E_MATERIAL_TYPE -> EMT_LIGHTMAP_ADD, if that resolves my original problem that all GUI elements turned black when the active camera was focussing a lightmapped mesh/node ....

wolfsb, berlin

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:05 pm
by ZDimitor
Very interesting! I dont have explanation of this right now....

Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 2:25 pm
by Bryan Abrams
I can't get dynamic lighting to work, do i need to do something special?

edit: figured it out,
also, transparency maps for trees look chromish, and aren't transparent, do i need to code the leafs etc in?