Grass Node v0.3.x

Announce new projects or updates of Irrlicht Engine related tools, games, and applications.
Also check the Wiki
Xaron
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 7:39 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Xaron »

Thank you, bitplane! :)

Regards - Xaron
dawasw
Posts: 357
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 4:39 pm
Location: Poland

Post by dawasw »

Bitplane I would like to use your grass in my project Journals of Celriech.(name will be changed soon)

I have already combined your grass glass with my source with 0 problems.

The thing is I use a milkshape 3d generated heightmap for terrain. That is because I'm storing my terrain in a 3d format than heightimage -> to have better physics with newton (terrains in irrlicht are causing some issues with newton);

So in game I have a 3d model of my terrain as world and I would like to add grass on-to it. I also have my heightmap image. (please note that I scale terrain in Milkshape)

Hmm when I create grass It is created only on the heightmap (on the little heightmap image); so how would I resize the heightmap image to get effect I would like to have ?
bitplane
Admin
Posts: 3204
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:45 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by bitplane »

currently the whole Create() function is a bit of a mess, it really needs a rewrite. You *should* be able to work around it (quick and dirty) by moving and scaling an empty node and passing it to the grass instead of the terrain.

and while i'm posting, thanks for all the feedback guys :)
Submit bugs/patches to the tracker!
Need help right now? Visit the chat room
etcaptor
Posts: 871
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:32 pm
Location: Valhalla
Contact:

Post by etcaptor »

// i give up. terrain pivot and position are different.
core::vector3df xz(p.X/Terrain->getScale().X,0.0f,p.Z/Terrain->getScale().Z);
@ bitplane, I saw this in your source. Do you resolve this problem?
I use similar technique for align in my project because it's faster then collisionPoint for terrain. This can resolve this problem:

Code: Select all

xz((p.X - Terrain->getPosition().X)/Terrain->getScale().X, 0.0f, 
(p.Z -  Terrain->getPosition().Z)/Terrain->getScale().Z));
ImageImage
Site development -Rock and metal online
--- etcaptor.com ------freenetlife.com
Lo_Ord
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 2:24 pm

Post by Lo_Ord »

Hi!

First off all: Great work with that Scene-Node!

I tried to implement it into a project I'm working on, but I get some error messages:
If I'm trying to create pointers to IWindGenerator and CGrassPatchSceneNode", I'm getting errors, saying that "IWindGenerator" or "CGrassPatchSceneNode" are not members of irr::scene. Still, if I type irr::scene:: (using MS Vs 2005), IWindGenerator and CGrassPatchSceneNode show up correctly...

I tried to rewrite your source-files to fit them into our namespace, but then I'm getting an "external could not be resolved"-error, which makes it nearly impossible for me to track the error down...

Any suggestions?
Sundar
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:05 am

Post by Sundar »

Hi

is there any way to control the height of the grass being generated. i tried this and i am struck pls help

Thx
Xaron
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 7:39 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Xaron »

Hi,

this question is answered on page 3 by bitplane:

Look for:

Code: Select all

core::dimension2d<f32> size(rand() % 40 +50, rand() % 60 + 50);
Regards - Xaron
Sundar
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:05 am

Post by Sundar »

Thanx i didnt see it. sorry about that. i ll try it in my home. thnx
trunks14
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 7:30 am
Location: America

Post by trunks14 »

wow it is truly fast!!!
In my humble system (AMD Athlon XP 1.7Ghz, 256 RAM, ATI Radeon 9550 256 VRAM) it is like 60+ fps nomally (with default settings)

And considering you normally don't need a great terrain full of grass, this is great, i'll use it whenever i make a RPG
Not yet.
madoc
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 10:43 am

Grass Scenenode

Post by madoc »

Hmm is the node no longer available? link seems dead
gunnicom
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:32 pm

Post by gunnicom »

Like madoc said. Node is not available. Is there any way to get it somewhere?
BlindSide
Admin
Posts: 2821
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:09 am
Location: NZ!

Post by BlindSide »

Enjoy:

GrassNode V 0.2.5
http://www.sendspace.com/file/s4x9cz 8)
gunnicom
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:32 pm

Post by gunnicom »

thx
Holiday
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 2:47 pm

Post by Holiday »

Hello,
I try to compile, but i get this error:

Code: Select all

45 G:\Dev-Cpp\IRRLICHT\irrlicht-1.3\examples\##GAME##\Grass\CGrassPatchSceneNode.h conflicting return type specified for `virtual irr::s32 irr::scene::CGrassPatchSceneNode::getMaterialCount()'
334 G:\Dev-Cpp\IRRLICHT\irrlicht-1.3\include\ISceneNode.h   overriding `virtual irr::u32 irr::scene::ISceneNode::getMaterialCount()' 
So i changed the s32 to u32, and i didn't get this err anymore,
but i get a different one:

When I init the Grass node, i do this?

Code: Select all

scene::CGrassPatchSceneNode** grass;
How to fix it?
Last edited by Holiday on Sat Apr 28, 2007 3:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
monkeycracks
Posts: 1029
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 12:45 am
Location: Tennesee, USA
Contact:

Post by monkeycracks »

Go into CGrassPatchSceneNode.h

Change s32 getMaterialCount() to u32 getMaterialCount()

Also change it in the CGrassPatchSceneNode.cpp
Post Reply