Starting a 3d game...

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Howzer

Starting a 3d game...

Post by Howzer »

Ok, I'm pretty new at the game development scene, but I want to try and make my own 3d game. I want to know if anyone has a simple shell i can use to start my game from. I'd search for it myself, but i'm not even sure what the words are for what that I'm searching for. I'm looking for something 1st/3rd person 3d, with some basic FPS functions(movement, weapons, etc.) The game could be single player but I'd prefer a multiplayer possibility.
So yeah, a simple, 3D, 1st/3rd person FPS, possibly with multiplayer or atleast where I could implement multiplayer myself.
If anyone can help, i'd greately appreciate it.
jam

Post by jam »

You might want to take a look at IrrWizard
Heizi

Post by Heizi »

Or look at the examples in the Irrlicht/examples folder.
The Tutorial about Colision is a good start for a game.
Howzer

Post by Howzer »

Ok, and does anyone have any other good tutorials, resources etc. for a persistant world, action/RPG/FPS, with a futuristic setting and possible multiplayer code?
I know i should just search for this stuff myself, but i'm not even really sure what search terms to use, and i've already tried a bit and waded through lots of threads and webpages that weren't really useful to me.
Any help will be appreciated, and at the least you'll get your name in the special credits. :P

Thanks in advance.

Post by Guest »

Howzer wrote:I know i should just search for this stuff myself, but i'm not even really sure what search terms to use
wtf???
why don't you try searching for those things you just mentioned in your first sentance????

These are all things that have been discussed TIME AND TIME AGAIN in Irrlicht's boards, not to mention the Wiki pages having articles on a lot of this!