Cel Shading.... A method for irrlicht???

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
dabeav

Cel Shading.... A method for irrlicht???

Post by dabeav »

Hi, I am VERY new to irrlicht, in fact I have just been looking through some of the documentation and forum posts for a couple days. I have noticed that irrlicht dosnt support shaders, nor opengl 1D textures. This causes a problem w/ cel shading, and that simply wont do. I recently read this article:
http://www.gamedev.net/reference/progra ... elshading/
it talks about 2 methods of creating a cel shading effect. They both require you to render an object w/out lighting then depending on which method you use, you either multitexture w/ a 2d and 1d image, or you set the color PER vertex to a greyscale value and render w/out blending turned on. Then you re render the object w/backfaces in wireframe mode. Since irrlicth has a color parameter per vertex this could be possible.

I believe the second method could work in irrlicht (not sure, that is my question). In order to do this in irrlicht you would need to be able to do this:

1. Render the same object twice w/out clearing the buffers
2. Turn off blending and lighting
3. Render in wireframe mode w/front faces culled
4. Change the wireframe linewidth to 2 or 3

Are all these things possible in irrlicht?? If so, this could be very easy to imlement.
niko
Site Admin

Re: Cel Shading.... A method for irrlicht???

Post by niko »

dabeav wrote:Are all these things possible in irrlicht?? If so, this could be very easy to imlement.
Sure, the only thing is, you have to modify the engine a little bit: Simply add this rendering method as new material. That's just some new lines of code, recompile it, and it should work.
dabeav

Post by dabeav »