Page 1 of 1

Creating GUI in irrlicht

Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:27 pm
by Q
I want to create my own GUI in Irrlicht for a project I'm working on. Do I need to disable the default GUIEnvironment? Are there any tutorials about this?

Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:32 pm
by Acki
Have a look at the tuorials included to the sdk:
05.UserInterface

Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:37 pm
by Q
Thanx for the fast reply Acki but I mean to create my own GUI subsystem not use the build in one.

Hi

Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:41 pm
by r3i
If you want edit the gui you must change CGUI*.cpp files of source of irrlicht.
Moreover...if you look at features you 'll see that interface system is skinable and that you can edit colors, fonts, style of buttons and alpha level.
If you don't like the style of windows_classic, then you must consider to create your GUI.

There aren't tutorials on this purpouse because it means change source code of Irrlicht.

Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 2:51 pm
by Guest
Then maybe I should just stick to the built in GUI.

Is it possible (without changing irrlicht source) to change buttons so that when they display the pressed image they display it as is instead of using the pressed button effect?

Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 3:19 pm
by r3i
Yeah: take a look at the api on the class IGUIButton: now with irr14 you can use also button transparent so your button 'll have the image shape.

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:28 pm
by Witch1986
One question!

When I use the transparancy (Alphachannel) I will dont get the Shape of the Image!

I will see my image and the grey from the Button because only the image is transparent and not the button!

Where is my failure?

Or its that normal??

Sorry for my bad english!

Witch

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 4:39 pm
by CuteAlien
Witch1986 wrote: When I use the transparancy (Alphachannel) I will dont get the Shape of the Image!

I will see my image and the grey from the Button because only the image is transparent and not the button!
That's because of the default skin settings. In IGUISkin you can set several colors for gui-elements. Try setting the alpha color values of the following color-types to 0:
EGDC_3D_DARK_SHADOW
EGDC_3D_SHADOW
EGDC_3D_FACE
EGDC_3D_HIGH_LIGHT

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 8:08 am
by Dirtbiker
Is it possible to change the element transparency for specific buttons? I'm using the GUI buttons with images to make a specific menu and I don't want to effect the other buttons.

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:45 pm
by CuteAlien
Dirtbiker wrote:Is it possible to change the element transparency for specific buttons? I'm using the GUI buttons with images to make a specific menu and I don't want to effect the other buttons.
Unfortunatly not. I'm having currently a similar problem. For transparency i would recommend to try a gui-design where all buttons work similar - for example disable transparency and set grey images for the buttons where you just want a grey(or whatever color) background.

I'm having that problem because i need specific colors for some statics. But i think i won't get arround hacking the engine there a little. I think i'll add an override-skin for specific elements the same way as there are already override fonts for some elements.

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:54 pm
by Acki
Right, I also had this problem... :shock:
Therefore I created extensions for this !!! 8)

With my button extension every button can have it's own text color and the border (background) can set to in-/visible for every single button !!!

The extension is included to my IrrExtensions !!! 8)