Can I do games with this?

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Mike JezZ

Can I do games with this?

Post by Mike JezZ »

Hi there!

I am new at making gmaes...

I can do maps to allmost all FPS games out there today... But cant do a single coding.

Is it possible for me to make games with this engine?
dawasw

Post by dawasw »

Sure, try it! :D

I came to irrlicht with almost no skill - and now I have quite amateur knowledge of something.

As a start read whole irrlicht tutorials. Remember also to learn some basic c++ (reading tutorials via net is even a good experience). Also don't start with making such complex things like Physics/Advanced Shooting etc. stuff; the best for you would be play with irrlicht atm.

At the begining search the forums for any kind of framework to work with.

After learning a lot you will understand everything. Even if you don't know something, you can try to see what happens.

I have been interested with this engine for about one and half year or maybe longer (I really cannot remember)

Now I'm at RPG development stage, with some very basic made things, but most code I do is working good in irrlicht (but not excellent :P).

So the answer is: Yes, it is possible to do games with this engine starting from - zero skill. (game will also depend on your will to complete the project, ideas and strength)

Good luck m8 ;)
kburkhart84

Post by kburkhart84 »

Yes, but you need to learn how to program(as in actual code). Irrlicht is a graphics engine(read, not Game Maker). For that reason it will run better andlook better than the average Game Creation software, but you have to code it. I mean to say it isn't click and play.
Mike JezZ

Post by Mike JezZ »

dawasw wrote:Sure, try it! :D

I came to irrlicht with almost no skill - and now I have quite amateur knowledge of something.