Page 1 of 1

I'm not a beginner but... where the frik is the setting...?

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 4:04 am
by dracflamloc
To change the radius of texture bluring/lod. Right now by default textures start looking muddy ridiculously close to the camera. It looks terrible.

I must be blind =\

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 8:31 am
by JP
as far as i know there's no settings like that, what dimensions are the textures? Maybe they're being stretched? how about a screenshot showing what it looks like from different distances?

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 9:46 am
by Baal Cadar
There is no setting to bias mipmap distances, but maybe you don't need it. By default Irrlicht uses bilinear filtering, which is old and ugly, it also supports triliear filtering which lessens the hard transitions between multiple mipmap levels and it is only slightly slower than bilinear filtering. For best results activate anisotropic filtering, this should get rid of the problem altogether, as this doesn't need mipmaps, because it filters on the fly. I don't know where to set the sampling area for this, as Irrlicht doesn't export this setting.

The filtering can be set in the SMaterial, see API docs.

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 1:45 pm
by dracflamloc
Ok thanks for the info I'll check it out but I have a feeling irrlicht isn't going to be my choice for this project anymore. It can barely handle 64 cube meshes on the screen at once on my pwoerhouse pc.

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 2:28 pm
by Baal Cadar
64 cube meshes are no problem; when done right.
I can bring even Ogre to its knees with 64 badly made cube meshes (like with putting each single face into a seperate submesh. GPUs love that.)

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 2:40 pm
by Xharock
bool irr::video::SMaterial::AnisotropicFilter

Is anisotropic filtering enabled? Default: false.

In Irrlicht you can use anisotropic texture filtering in conjunction with bilinear or trilinear texture filtering to improve rendering results. Primitives will look less blurry with this flag switched on.
That should be what you're looking for...

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 2:51 pm
by Acki
dracflamloc wrote:Ok thanks for the info I'll check it out but I have a feeling irrlicht isn't going to be my choice for this project anymore. It can barely handle 64 cube meshes on the screen at once on my pwoerhouse pc.
Even 1000 cubes are no problem !!!
The callback demo from Newton let 1000 cubes fall down to the ground and there is no delay at all... ;)

Posted: Fri May 19, 2006 11:59 pm
by dracflamloc
Well.. I guess it depends on your definition of "barely handle". To me, that few cubes should not bring the fps down to 50fps. Esp not on a 3.2ghz p4 with a radeon x800

Posted: Sat May 20, 2006 9:23 am
by hybrid
That's what all those kind replies should make you understand. It does not bring the FPS down to 50 fps if you do not mess around with some weird setup. I get more than 50 fps even on my notebook' ATI mobility already 3 years old. Maybe you could describe your scene and let us help with tuning your settings.