is it possible to take models from 3d studio max?

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
albeth

is it possible to take models from 3d studio max?

Post by albeth »

Hi

I think the title good tell the question. I'm new in 3d prgramtaion and i now good this soft so i want to now if it is possible to take 3d models from this log.

Thanks for your answers

P.S. : I'm not english so sorry... :D
maybe i can do it, maybe i can't
WromthraX

Post by WromthraX »

If your question is about loading files made in 3d studio max (*.3ds) into Irrlich engine, yes it is possible. I use that myself. You can find the code in the first tutorial.
albeth

Post by albeth »

Ok I know hox to take a file in a prog but my 3dmax file a .max.So i have a stupid question, hox can i have .3ds?

Thanks for help to a realy beginer
jugurdzija

he he

Post by jugurdzija »

File->Export->(choose format you want,in max it is 3ds)
or
File->Export Selected (this will export current selection into 3ds)
WromthraX

Post by WromthraX »

In 3D Studio Max under the File menu u have an option Export, go there and Export your model or scene in .3ds format.
albeth

Post by albeth »

Thanks, i'm realy stupid...I spear it will change

tchao
thesmileman

Post by thesmileman »

Also Make sure when exporting max files that your texture or maps does not have bump mapping check in the material manager and if you use a map that it is a jpg.

I spent forever trying to figure out why irrlicht kept crashing on startup.

I have also had better luck with using the export selected option than just export.

Post by Guest »

Hi,