Irrlicht noob questions with C# (.NET)

Irrlicht.Net is no longer developed or supported, Irrlicht.Net Cross Platform is a much more complete wrapper. Please ask your C# related questions on their forums first.
Loki

Irrlicht noob questions with C# (.NET)

Post by Loki »

I've got several questions about the engine. I've only played with it enough to proof of concept my idea using the examples. I'm new to game design, but not new to programming. I just wanted to get some answers from the experts and see if any of the things I want to do are possible.

I'm developing the game as a 2d game - I'm a programmer and not an artist :) Well, one of the features I'm trying is dynamically built maps using premade tiles - think of it like a game board that you see skewed.

Using a test I have written I can define each tile in an XML file - to be later served up via web service, and then the engine pulls it apart into an easier to use System.Data.DataTable. The info I stash here is vital game data, as well as the tile image, and I compute the cooridnates for the tile here. This Datatable is "cached" so that I only have to get the map on load.

Next I run through the table and drop each tile onto the screen. I noticed in the example that the background has to be repainted for each frame. Is it possible to render the tiles to the screen, and then behind the scenes take an Image of the entire map (even if it is bigger than the screen size), save that out to a file, and then use that single image as the map, rather than loading in each tile every iteration (not a big deal to do that if I put it in it's own thread though). Looking thought the Irrlicht.Video in the api I couldn't see anything that would let me save the map out. It would be nice if you could import a texture from a .NET object, like a System.Drawing.Image or a memory stream. :) Then I wouldn't have to save out the map.