Some questions on Irrlicht (GUI, meshes, camera)

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
crackingod

Some questions on Irrlicht (GUI, meshes, camera)

Post by crackingod »

Hi everybody
I'm new to Irrlicht and this is my first post on this forum!
I'm looking for an engine to build a very simple city builder (nothing commercial or huge, just for fun).
I experimented a bit with Irrlicht and found it quite surprising how easily you can do things compared to raw OpenGL or DX.
However I felt the API reference is a bit poorly documented and it's difficult to really find what functions you need to use, anyway that isn't a major problem I believe as the forum here looks quite active!

I started fiddling with the camera and mesh loading and I'm trying to do a simcity like camera style (from above, with movement at the edge of the screen), that was amazingly easy to produce. However I got stuck in something which I thought would be easier. I'd like to rotate the camera in the way you can in some rts games, any interesting ideas on how to do that?
Another thing is the GUI, again is very easy to use but I have a few questions:
1) Can you make a window non movable?
2) Is it possible to modify the aspect of a window (remove cross on top right,background image, etc...)
3)also, I need to use the bottom 1/5th of the screen for my gui, a window covering that. How can I not render the covered part to speed up things. Basically my question is, can you not render what is behind the gui?

One last thing is about meshed. I created a terrain on 3ds max and exported it as .3DS, it loads beautifully when I only apply one material but crashes miserably when I load a .3ds file with more than one material applied to it. Any idea?
Also, I checked the terrain rendering system, but it doesn't really suit my needs.

Well that was a long first post :D
Thank You!
Halan

Post by Halan »