Page 1 of 1

About Tutorial 2: Quake 3 Map

Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 10:32 am
by Thomaskkc
I'd like to ask about how to load a Map into Irrlicht

that is if i have draw a map in 3dsmax, so in the tutorial 2
it said that to load the .pk3 file

so i'd like to ask is that i need to load a pk3 file or just load a obj file from the 3dsmax to make a map?

if i need to load the pk3 file, how can i make this file from 3dsmax?

thanks for any solution and suggestion

Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 11:12 am
by hybrid
Just load the .obj file as in example 8 (where it is 3ds which might be even better suited for 3dsMax).

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 3:31 am
by CK_MACK
//for example: look for a similar line in the quake example:
scene::IAnimatedMesh* mesh = smgr->getMesh("../../media/OAB3D/OpenArena2.b3d");

// we used a Blitz 3d file, but I believe u can use .3ds as well. You need to make sure your path is correct. And, since your not using a zip... or pk3 I think you can use this

if (mesh)
node = smgr->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode(mesh);

// rather than
// node = smgr->addOctTreeSceneNode(mesh->getMesh(0));
// which caused an error for me when I loaded from B3d file.