Irredit and Irrlicht path problem

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding game design, integration of external libraries here. For irrEdit, irrXML and irrKlang, see the
ambiera forums
Terrachild

Irredit and Irrlicht path problem

Post by Terrachild »

I'm new to Irredit, but there appears to be a problem with the way Irredit stores paths in the .irr file.

I have set up my Irrlicht project folder and in it I have a scene folder, a mesh folder and a texture folder. I use Irredit to lay out the scene, but when I load the scene into my Irrlicht app. the paths that Irredit creates in the .irr file don't correspond to what Irrlicht wants. It looks like Irredit is using relative paths in the .irr file, but the stored paths are unncecessarily long.

For example:
Instead of saving the mesh path the way Irrlicht wants, like this:

<string name="Mesh" value="../meshes/room.3ds" />

or, in english, up 1 folder from the scene folder and down into the meshes folder;

Irredit does this,

<string name="Mesh" value="../../../../documents and settings/christopher/my documents/visual studio projects/irrlicht vb.net/irrlicht scene practice/meshes/room.3ds" />

When I try to load the scene in Irrlicht, it doesn't know what to do with this. Do I have to go in and modify all the paths in the .irr file? :(

puzzled
monkeycracks

Post by monkeycracks »

in the irredit folder copy your media into whatever folders it will be found in your game, inside the irredit folder.

Thats how I did it and it worked.
vitek
Bug Slayer

Post by vitek »

Can't you just run IrrEdit from the same directory as your Irrlicht executable? Seems like that should work...

If you use a shortcut, set the working directory to the same directory as the Irrlicht executable is in. If you run from the command line change directories to the directory the Irrlicht executable is in before running IrrEdit.
monkeycracks

Post by monkeycracks »

Vitek's idea is much easier and better.