breakable object

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Yeurl

breakable object

Post by Yeurl »

Hi there,

i woukd like to know how could i modelise a 3d scene that i could break, with for example a Gun.

By the way, i don't search a physic engine or other, but just the way for how represent into a 3d level tool. ( i m currently use GTKRadiant for having a pk3 at the final).

If there is a guy or more to help me , i will be HAPPY ah ah ah ;)

Thx
Lideln

Post by Lideln »

Hi !

Im a noob, but waiting for another answer... Here is mine.
A simple idea could be to model the object you wish to "explode".
Then, seperate it in several objects (in your 3D modeler), export each object, and then in the game, lets say you have a function to draw your object.
If the object isn't break, then the different object parts have to be placed properly to fake a "solid" object.
When you break it, simply move every part wherever you want (for that, a physics engine could help).

I know its a very simple idea, but it should work.

But as I said, wait for other answers because Im noob and I dont think my solution is the best you can hear :wink:

++
--
Lideln, France
stodge

Post by stodge »

Create one complete model and several models for the broken object.

While the object is whole render the complete single model.

When the object breaks, quickly replace the complete single model with the broken models, arranged so they look like the complete model. In subsequent redraws move the broken models in some fashion to simulate the object breaking.
What does the debugger tell you? You did use the debugger, didn't you?
JP

Post by JP »

Whilst being shown round some games companies i saw some modellers working on things like tables that could be smashed up. They seemed to be modelling it and animating it so that i guess you could run the animation at when it's ready to fall apart.