Page 1 of 1

Bug MS3D With Bone Animation

Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:59 pm
by Magnet
I have model: http://www.webpolit.com/irr/fish2.rar

This model loaded in IrrLight incorrect!! :
Image

But in Milkshape loaded corect:
Image

This model has bones, animation.

P.S. Pay no regard to texture.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:10 pm
by Magnet
It is bug or no?

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:20 pm
by sio2
Are those fins single polygons? If so, they will be backface culled when viewed from one side. Try disabling backface culling in your fish material. Alternatively, edit the mesh to make them two sided.

Edit: The first thing to try is switching off "draw backfaces" in the MilkShape 3D window. If the fins don't draw when rotating the model all the way round then you know what the issue is.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:35 pm
by sio2
No, it's not a bug. I just tried the model in MilkShape and those fins are single-sided.

If you're going to use stencil shadows I would edit the model.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:08 pm
by hybrid
Does MilkShape have a material flag for two-sided materials? In that case we could add support easily.

Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:41 pm
by bitplane

Code: Select all

//
// nNumMaterials * sizeof (ms3d_material_t)
//
typedef struct
{
    char            name[32];                           //
    float           ambient[4];                         //
    float           diffuse[4];                         //
    float           specular[4];                        //
    float           emissive[4];                        //
    float           shininess;                          // 0.0f - 128.0f
    float           transparency;                       // 0.0f - 1.0f
    char            mode;                               // 0, 1, 2 is unused now
    char            texture[128];                        // texture.bmp
    char            alphamap[128];                       // alpha.bmp
} ms3d_material_t;
doesn't look like it :(

Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:17 am
by hybrid
Hmm, the mode might help. But documentation is not available as it seems.

Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:52 pm
by bitplane
yes thats what I thought, but there's no mention of mode in the ascii version of the specs, so i think its reserved for future use