Texture Problem

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
Max Man

Texture Problem

Post by Max Man »

Hi All

i have problem with .3ds format when i import in irrlicht tiled texture wont work do i have to write any code for that please help

Regards
Max Man
rogerdv
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 4:20 pm

Post by rogerdv »

Please, be more explicit. In version 0.3 there was a problem loading textures (you must put the image file in the executable dir), but well, 0.3 is ancient history.
If you use linux, please notice that 3d max stores filenames in uppercase inside 3ds files and you must rename the image files to match the names inside the 3ds.
In 3ds files exported from Milkshape the filenames are truncated at certain length (correct me if Im wrong).
puh
Posts: 356
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 3:53 pm

Post by puh »

You right, rogerdv, I've noticed Milkshape cut all texture file names to 8 character.
Max Man, to resolve your problem just keep all textures and model in same dir (it was discussed many times, search forum first)
saigumi
Posts: 921
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 11:31 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Post by saigumi »

A quick tip on Milkshape and textures.

Milkshape loves PNGs, especially for the texture placing tool.

Irrlicht doesn't like PNGs, so I convert the PNGs to Bitmaps.

My little work around for it is to apply the bitmap texture to the model after loading the model. This also allows me to have multiple skins for each mesh.
Crud, how do I do this again?
Max Man

texture tile problem

Post by Max Man »

thanks for reply

i can see textures after loading 3ds file. displying a textures is no problem with 3ds file but tileing of texture is my problem
let me put this way i have room with floor(a box). i have applied a texture"floor.jpg" and tiled for 7 times. but when i import. it display only one tile on entire floor do i have to write code saying tile "floor.jpg" 7 times

in simple word 3ds file doesnt give tiled texture in irrlicht

waiting for reply
Regards

Max Man
Max Man

Re: texture tile problem

Post by Max Man »

Max Man wrote:thanks for reply

i can see textures after loading 3ds file. displying a textures is no problem with 3ds file but tileing of texture is my problem
let me put this way i have room with floor(a box). i have applied a texture"floor.jpg" and tiled for 7 times. but when i import. it display only one tile on entire floor do i have to write code saying tile "floor.jpg" 7 times

in simple word 3ds file doesnt give tiled texture in irrlicht

waiting for reply
Regards

Max Man

Please Please solve my problem
puh
Posts: 356
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 3:53 pm

Post by puh »

You are not right. Tiling of textures works perfectly in Irrlicht. There was a bug in 0.4.0 release with texture tiling in OGL mode when SkyNode is active, but with 0.4.1. the problem seems to me resolved.
Do you use OGL or D3D?
Do you know what 'texture mapping' means?
Max man

Texture Problem images

Post by Max man »

please check the url where i uploaded images t1.jpg shows 3d file with texture tiles correctly
http://ravishekdar.netfirms.com/t1.jpg

and when i export as 3ds file and open with irrlicht-0.4 it shows single tile texture
http://ravishekdar.netfirms.com/t2.jpg

Now tell me am i doing wrong i tried with DIRECTX and OPENGL method too.
the result is same.

If you want to try with my file i can mail across u Please

Regards
Max Man
niko
Site Admin
Posts: 1759
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 4:44 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by niko »

Yes, could you send the file to me please? irrlicht@users.sourceforge.net
Hope I'll find the bug.
Max main

Post by Max main »

niko wrote:Yes, could you send the file to me please? irrlicht@users.sourceforge.net
Hope I'll find the bug.
i have mailed to you the file
Max Man

Post by Max Man »

soory for last reply i was in hurry

forgot to mention url
http://ravishekdar.netfirms.com/Release.zip

please download and check it

it may ask some missing texture but ignore it i am not using those texture in file

regards

Max Man
puh
Posts: 356
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 3:53 pm

Post by puh »

Why don't you create floor as 2 triangles? The way you create a room is bulky, there is 62 triangles, 108 vertices! You can do the same with the 12 triangles, 8 vertices.
One more - seems you are using groups in 3dmax (or levels maybe?). Forget about it. Engine doesn't understand grouping.
RTFM about texture-mapping, please.
(For example I using LithUnwrap for it)
Here is good tutorial for Milkshape: http://www.psionic.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/tuts/msmap.html
Here is another one for LithUnwrap: http://www.bzuniverse.com/~fish.xsi/skin.htm
Finally I found skinning tutorial for MAX: http://www.cschell.com/skinmaxtut.html
Guest

Max Man

Post by Guest »

puh wrote:Why don't you create floor as 2 triangles? The way you create a room is bulky, there is 62 triangles, 108 vertices! You can do the same with the 12 triangles, 8 vertices.
One more - seems you are using groups in 3dmax (or levels maybe?). Forget about it. Engine doesn't understand grouping.
RTFM about texture-mapping, please.
(For example I using LithUnwrap for it)
Here is good tutorial for Milkshape: http://www.psionic.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/tuts/msmap.html
Here is another one for LithUnwrap: http://www.bzuniverse.com/~fish.xsi/skin.htm
Finally I found skinning tutorial for MAX: http://www.cschell.com/skinmaxtut.html
Really thabks for those links

yes i know i have created bulky model since there are lot of things are going to come.
But that is not solve my problem i am not using any groups as far as texture is there i collapse all mesh and apply texture (ie material) to
individual polygon once textures are applied then applu UNwrapUVW i again collapse all modifiers and convert into mesh and then export it and i save texture co-ordinate info
_____________________
USING IRRLICHT 0.4
I TRIED TO DO SIMPLE EXPRIEMENT WITH 3DS FILE I CREATED SINGLE PLANE IN 3DSMAX WITH SINGLE POLYGON(2 TRIANGLE) AND I APPLIED TEXTURE TO IT IN MATERIAL ATTRIBUTE I INCREASED TILE VALUE TO 5 EACH BUT IN IRRLICHT IT SHOWS SINGLE TILE TEXTURE
________

Please tell me is there any problem with my technic or my disply driver

Regards

Max Man
Max Man

Wonders of 3ds format

Post by Max Man »

That simple expriement gives me landed me some other problem that
i dont understand
when i export plane with texture tiled 5 times,in irrlicht 3ds file shows one
same file if i import it shows perfectly 5 times

But now if i import into mikshape3d it shows 1 tile :cry: So i used tile texture mapper and exoport it.after milkshape export it shows right

:shock: what ciould be the BUG is it with 3dsmax5.0 or ME

i am really going mad :x

please help me

Max Man
puh
Posts: 356
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 3:53 pm

Post by puh »

The problem with your model. I've change size of UV coordinates, now texture is:
Image
You can take my update of your test.3ds here http://cadkey.times.lv/t/test.3DS
I don't know 3dmax, so your problem with it remains.
Post Reply