Image Quality

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Post Reply
Dataleap
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2004 1:21 pm

Image Quality

Post by Dataleap »

Hi,

I think some people already posted about this but here is a clean screenshot that shows a bmp rendered in Software, OpenGL, DirectX8 and DirectX9 :

Image

Original BMP :

Image

Here is the code I used :

Code: Select all

driver->setTextureCreationFlag(ETCF_OPTIMIZED_FOR_QUALITY, true);
ITexture *image = driver->getTexture("sp1.bmp");
driver->makeColorKeyTexture(image, position2d<s32>(0,0));
    
while(device->run()) {
 driver->beginScene(true, true, SColor(0,100,100,100));
 driver->draw2DImage(image, position2d<s32>(380,180), rect<s32>(0,0,40,96), 0, SColor(255,255,255,255), true);
 driver->endScene();
}
niko
Site Admin
Posts: 1759
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 4:44 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by niko »

Thanks for that shot. I think it'll help a lot fixing the bug.
Dataleap
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2004 1:21 pm

Post by Dataleap »

You're welcome. Posting detailed screenshot is the least I can do if I use your engine :D
Zaelsius
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2003 12:02 pm
Location: Alicante, Spain
Contact:

Post by Zaelsius »

Niko I think the problem is in the copyTexture() methods of the directx8/9texture.cpp. In our last game I changed those methods by direct calls to the directx texture loading routines and the results were correct.
niko
Site Admin
Posts: 1759
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 4:44 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by niko »

Really? Ok, nice to know. Thanks. :)
Post Reply