Are all Blender3D export scripts broken?

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding to Image manipulation, 3d modeling and level editing for the Irrlicht engine here.
Post Reply
Halifax
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 10:40 pm
Location: $9D95

Are all Blender3D export scripts broken?

Post by Halifax »

I am using Blender 2.45 the newest version, and I had a simple mesh that I wanted to export. Just one in the whole scene.

So I tried exporting it to .X, .3ds, and .obj

They all exported fine, with no errors from the scripts.

Next I tried loading the X with:

Code: Select all

IAnimatedMesh* mesh = smgr->getMesh("media/test.obj");
	IAnimatedMeshSceneNode* node = smgr->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode(mesh);
It said it couldn't load the mesh. So then I tried with .3ds, and it said it couldn't load it. Finally I tried it with .obj, and once again it said it couldn't load it.

Is this a problem with Blender3D exports, Irrlicht, or the way I am trying to load them?
TheQuestion = 2B || !2B
kingb3000
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:41 am

Re: Are all Blender3D export scripts broken?

Post by kingb3000 »

Halifax wrote:I am using Blender 2.45 the newest version, and I had a simple mesh that I wanted to export. Just one in the whole scene.

So I tried exporting it to .X, .3ds, and .obj

They all exported fine, with no errors from the scripts.

Next I tried loading the X with:

Code: Select all

IAnimatedMesh* mesh = smgr->getMesh("media/test.obj");
	IAnimatedMeshSceneNode* node = smgr->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode(mesh);
It said it couldn't load the mesh. So then I tried with .3ds, and it said it couldn't load it. Finally I tried it with .obj, and once again it said it couldn't load it.

Is this a problem with Blender3D exports, Irrlicht, or the way I am trying to load them?
I have used the .3ds export in blender 2.45 and then loaded it with irrlicht just fine. I did notice that when I used the .3ds export that it would export only the mesh I had selected at the time. If you are not selecting a mesh for export, that might be your problem. Let me know if that helps... good luck! If it doesn't work, if you could post a .blend file, I could try to see if I can get it to work... just a thought.
Halifax
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 10:40 pm
Location: $9D95

Post by Halifax »

Ah, thank you so much. That was the problem. I was trying to export the mesh without selecting anything.

Thanks.
TheQuestion = 2B || !2B
Halifax
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 10:40 pm
Location: $9D95

Post by Halifax »

Alright, I have another question. How do I keep my mesh normals managed in Blender?

Because after using the .X exporter, and trying to open it with irrEdit it said that the mesh normals section was missing a terminating semicolon. So I went and opened the .X file to inspect it and as some of the normals it put:

-1.#INDO

or something like that. Does anyone know what is up with this? Should I use binormals or not in Blender?
TheQuestion = 2B || !2B
dlangdev
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:28 pm
Location: Beaverton OR
Contact:

Post by dlangdev »

blender 2.45 exports to .x format fine. select the mesh and then file->export.

see image below.

Image
Post Reply