.x BoundingBox bug

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Post Reply
lantis
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 2:46 pm

.x BoundingBox bug

Post by lantis »

Im try to update my project from 1.3 to 1.4, and my models selection system brokne in 1.4
Im check problem and found what BoundingBox in 1.4 incorrect

Here model (No problem in 1.3):
http://www.shadow-dimension.com/files/player_irr.zip

Screeen from Irr ModelViewver
Image
etcaptor
Posts: 871
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:32 pm
Location: Valhalla
Contact:

Post by etcaptor »

Same problem here.
ImageImage
Site development -Rock and metal online
--- etcaptor.com ------freenetlife.com
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Yes, that's a known open bug of the new animation system. The bbox handling was simply left out for now (the bbox you can see is that of the initial pose).
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Ok, I fixed some parts of bbox handling for skinned meshes (in the 1.4 branch of SVN). However, you should note that bbox is still not working for all animated meshes, and that joints outside of the optimal bbox do extend the bbox to include also those points.
lantis
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 2:46 pm

Up!

Post by lantis »

Somebody know - bug fixed in 1.4.1?
Or we still must use 1.3? ;-)
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

It's also a bug in the mesh as it seems. There are lots of empty meshbuffers in there.
lantis
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 2:46 pm

Post by lantis »

Its work for 1.3 and work for MS XViewer ;(
Irrlicht 1.4 cant work with any meshes exported from 3DMax with Panda exporter ;(
Steel Style
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: France

Post by Steel Style »

lantis I'm using Irrlicht 1.4.4 with 3dsMax & Panda exporter, then sometime I need Mview, so I got the same problem. And I only find 1 way recalcultate bounding box for all buffers.

Code: Select all

for ( int b=0 ; b < mesh->getMesh()->getMeshBufferCount(); b++)
	{
		scene::IMeshBuffer* buffer = mesh->getMesh()->getMeshBuffer(b);
		buffer->recalculateBoundingBox();
	}
Then you should get good bouding box.
Post Reply