Level Loading

You are an experienced programmer and have a problem with the engine, shaders, or advanced effects? Here you'll get answers.
No questions about C++ programming or topics which are answered in the tutorials!
Post Reply
mohaps
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 1:54 pm
Location: Shrewsbury MA
Contact:

Level Loading

Post by mohaps »

Hi,

I have created a finite state machine based game framework..where the game is split into states and each state has a method set like init(), cleanup(), activate(), deactivate().

the states are like:

Splash Screen
Main Menu
Level Loading
Level Running
Level Paused
Level Menu
Exit

now..in each state i need to load different textures (e.g. for splash screen and main menu).

So is there a way i can unload textures and resources i am no longer using???
---
Saurav Mohapatra
author, artist and bona fide geek

web: http://www.mohaps.com
email: mohaps AT gmail DOT com
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

well well well, welcome my dear mohaps!

I guess we are meant to run into each other every now and then!!!

I'm glad you are also interested in Irrlicht. Sorry I can't help out much with programming, but I wanted to welcome you here.

cheers!

btw: check my testlevel, I'm just beginning to learn to program with Irrlicht:
http://www.theshower.nl/cgi-bin/genesis ... is/AFC.zip
Image
mohaps
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 1:54 pm
Location: Shrewsbury MA
Contact:

Post by mohaps »

Hi alvaro,

nice meeting you.. lol..

I am using Irrlicht to create a small prototype gam eharness to quickly test out gameplay and ideas...

currently we are making a multiplayer arena value game for a publisher demo befor ewe do WITHIN... :)

am using irrlicht to test stuff out...

by the way you can check out the stuff at :

http://www.geocities.com/mvaruas/quidrollix/

mohaps
---
Saurav Mohapatra
author, artist and bona fide geek

web: http://www.mohaps.com
email: mohaps AT gmail DOT com
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

:D :D
I'm also glad to see you.

Within looks great! I thought you were using Torque for that one. Did you continue doing things in Cipher? I had a lot of problems with it.

How's modeling stuff coming up?

thnx for the link, I'll check your new stuff tonight (currently at work)

cheers!

cya
Image
mohaps
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 1:54 pm
Location: Shrewsbury MA
Contact:

Post by mohaps »

alvaro,

we are using a modified version of the Catmother engine for the WITHIN game...

irrlicht is a pretty cool tool to just test out ideas for gameplay and stuff...
---
Saurav Mohapatra
author, artist and bona fide geek

web: http://www.mohaps.com
email: mohaps AT gmail DOT com
Post Reply