reflective materials

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Post Reply
Mirror
Posts: 218
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 4:09 pm

reflective materials

Post by Mirror »

when using a material of type EMT_TRANSPARENT_REFLECTION_2_LAYER or EMT_REFLECTION_2_LAYER, the reflected image, doesn't change ONLY when the camera position is moved, but also when the camera's target is moved which is wrong. The same goes for EMT_SPHERE_MAP

both opengl and d3d are affected.

p.s.
i don't know how the reflective materials are implemented but maybe it's an issue of using an ETS_VIEW matrix transformation instead of ETS_WORLD. The opposite maybe will correct the situation ( i had a similar issue with shaders, and was corrected this way ).
christianclavet
Posts: 1638
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 3:24 am
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Contact:

Post by christianclavet »

I had problem with those since the release of IRRlicht 1.4 (SVN and final). If you can, the solution is to use custom shaders and not use them.

My experience with them is some strange flipping of the relected image when encoutering a certain angle with the camera. On Vista, the surface is not even rendered with the reflected image. Any demo that use PS2+ type shaders display properly on both systems.

A Vista related display problem is resolved now (don't know if it's 1.4.1 or new vista drivers, but some face normals were flipped and we had "holes" on some meshes (especialy the IRRlicht generated ones like the ground). Now the rendering of those objects are ok.
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

BUMPing this to see if anyone knows if it's still a valid bug, or whether it's already been fixed. (I'll check on 1.5 if nobody knows for sure).
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Mirror
Posts: 218
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 4:09 pm

Post by Mirror »

i just tested it with the revision 1848 of the 1.5 branch. it still exists. if you need reproduction source i can post it.


p.s. im getting in the console these messages, dunno if they ought to appear :

Code: Select all

Load object chunk.
Load object chunk.
Load vertices.
Load texture coords.
Load indices.
Load object chunk.
Load frame chunk.
Load keyframe header.
Load keyframe segment.
Load keyframe current time.
Load object tag.
Load node ID.
Load keyframe node header.
Load pivot point.
Load track chunk.
Load track chunk.
Load track chunk.
Load track chunk.
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Yes, those messages should appear, it's a 3ds debug output (because you're using a debug mode compile).
Mirror
Posts: 218
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 4:09 pm

Post by Mirror »

hm no, i compiled irrlicht in release mode ( irrlicht.dll is 1724 KB size compiled with msvc 2005 express in release mode ..in debug mode it has a 3900KB size ) and also the app is in release mode
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Hmm, maybe I forgot the #ifdef _DEBUG?
Post Reply