Here's the story:
I'm working on my happy little project, I compile it, let it run a bit, it seems to work as wanted, I close the window and repeat a few times the process. Every time, it works as expected. (Some ships in 3d space following each other and shooting rockets).
Now, I launch the previously compiled .exe directly, outside of my IDE (VC++ Express 9). It... doesn't work the same way it did by launching it from the IDE. Completely different actualy.
Yes, I have every DLL in place, every file where it should be and so on.
Anyone know why this might happen? Maybe someone knows a potential solution to this?
BTW: same thing happens on other computers as well.
Thanks in advance,
NH.
(If it gets fixed I'll show you a nice movie of it working )
Weird Issue with compiled .exe
-
- Posts: 153
- Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:42 am
- Location: Suceava - Romania
- Contact:
-
- Admin
- Posts: 3590
- Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
- Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
- Contact:
Re: Weird Issue with compiled .exe
How different?night_hawk wrote:Now, I launch the previously compiled .exe directly, outside of my IDE (VC++ Express 9). It... doesn't work the same way it did by launching it from the IDE. Completely different actualy.
And I have Alyson Hannigan duct taped to my bed.night_hawk wrote:Yes, I have every DLL in place, every file where it should be and so on.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
-
- Posts: 153
- Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:42 am
- Location: Suceava - Romania
- Contact:
@JP: it is the latest compiled version.
As for the differences, running it from the IDE does this:
-All 12 ships on the screen start randomly picking an enemy (6 are Team 1, 6 are Team 2) and flying around it, shooting rockets whenever in range. Rockets follow the targeted ship until they hit the ship. Everything runs smoothly, in the end, only ships from 1 team remain (usualy only 1 ship at all).
When I run it outside the IDE, this is how it works:
-Only 2 or 3 of the ships start doing the above stuff. The others just loop as if they would want to target themselves. All rockets do the same. They just loop around their initial position. The other 2-3 just keep on flying around their target and attacking it.
And... that's about it. I have no idea why this behaviour...
@rogerborg: lucky bastard...
As for the differences, running it from the IDE does this:
-All 12 ships on the screen start randomly picking an enemy (6 are Team 1, 6 are Team 2) and flying around it, shooting rockets whenever in range. Rockets follow the targeted ship until they hit the ship. Everything runs smoothly, in the end, only ships from 1 team remain (usualy only 1 ship at all).
When I run it outside the IDE, this is how it works:
-Only 2 or 3 of the ships start doing the above stuff. The others just loop as if they would want to target themselves. All rockets do the same. They just loop around their initial position. The other 2-3 just keep on flying around their target and attacking it.
And... that's about it. I have no idea why this behaviour...
@rogerborg: lucky bastard...
-
- Admin
- Posts: 3590
- Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
- Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
- Contact:
Memory initialisation? I'd check that all of your memory is explicitly initialised. Alyson agreed, when I took her ball gag out.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
-
- Posts: 153
- Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:42 am
- Location: Suceava - Romania
- Contact:
-
- Posts: 153
- Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:42 am
- Location: Suceava - Romania
- Contact:
-
- Posts: 153
- Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:42 am
- Location: Suceava - Romania
- Contact:
Indeed, the whole problem was from the debugger. It defaults all bools to true. I had a lost piece of code that didn't init those bools to true, although it should have. While debugging, no error was present, but without the debugger... meh.
Anyway, thanks for the tips. I'll post a short movie soon. It looks pretty good now.
Anyway, thanks for the tips. I'll post a short movie soon. It looks pretty good now.