Low FPS

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
systat
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:01 pm

Low FPS

Post by systat »

Hello, I am a newbie with Irrlicht, and for some reason I get relative slow fps, even though I rendered only few objects, so I wonder if I can post the whole source code of my game so far, and that you tell my what is wrong thanks.
Image

12 FPS, when I look at this scene node, wtf?!?!
patricklucas
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 5:05 am
Location: NC, USA

Post by patricklucas »

Unoptimized model? I don't really know enough to say.

Looks like a bad case of that suntan stuff on the back of her legs.
Eigen
Competition winner
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:01 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Post by Eigen »

Well .. since primitive count is quite high I'd say you've got yourself a really hi-poly model there. Try lowering that.
systat
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:01 pm

Post by systat »

How to do that, I don't know almost anything about modeling, I got this models for free, check this out, I tried to load Octopus, It took longer time for irrlicht to initialize, after that my FPS was 1, and I fall through the terrain :roll:
Why is part of octopus black, and look at those stats, when I took screenshot the numbers were changing, and I got that screenshoted neihter, is that lowering FPS?

Image
patricklucas
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 5:05 am
Location: NC, USA

Post by patricklucas »

I see two numbers, Max Primitive count and Primitive count, and when a number exceeds its maximum... tends to be bad?

I'd say download Blender and toy with it. I don't know for sure where, but I'm sure there's an option to optimize the model.
vitek
Bug Slayer
Posts: 3919
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:52 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Post by vitek »

The max is the maximum number of primitives that can be rendered in a single draw call. The total primitive count is the sum of all primitives rendered in all draw calls over the entire frame. This is fine.
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

You'll also get significantly better performance if you rebuild Irrlicht yourself in release mode.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
systat
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:01 pm

Post by systat »

To the Scottish guy, where can I download Irrlicht source, what dependecies I need?
Ion Dune
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:29 pm
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Post by Ion Dune »

I may not be Scottish, but the source is inside the SDK (under "source"). I don't think it has any dependencies (maybe for DX), but the fastest way to find out would be to try it.

EDIT: This will help you out even more. Also, no dependencies unless you want DX.
JP
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by JP »

If you're using free models from the internet they'll generally be extremely high poly because they've not been made for use in games... In games you generally want to keep the poly level to only a few thousand per model so these free models are basically useless to you as they are.

You can reduce the poly count in some modelling programs... milkshape has the option under the DX tools.
Image Image Image
systat
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:01 pm

Post by systat »

:)
Probably, when I saw archive, it said 500 HQ models.rar(High Quality) on it, so I thought, they are really cool, didn't know about high poly :p
systat
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:01 pm

Post by systat »

Why I need dx8 to compile irrlicht source?!?
I already have dx9 SDK, and now when I try to compile I get errors that
some dx8 include file can't be found, what is that?
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

Search in include\IrrCompileConfig.h for

#define _IRR_COMPILE_WITH_DIRECT3D_8_

and comment it out. Job's a good 'un.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
christianclavet
Posts: 1638
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 3:24 am
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Contact:

Post by christianclavet »

For checking if it's IRRlicht that give a problem with your scene, remove all your objects (octopus, women, gun) and use the provided DWARF and compare the FPS between the 2.

I'm pretty sure that the meshes that you use right now are NOT game optimized.

If you take a BOSS character in "GEAR OF WAR", the mesh is having about 12,000 poly and this a very high number for a game character. Your mesh should not exceed 4,000 poly (for a very high quality model) and I would propose to limit yourself to 2,000 so it run correctly on the most current type of hardware.
Post Reply