Rendering drivers(solved)

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding to Image manipulation, 3d modeling and level editing for the Irrlicht engine here.
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

Rendering drivers(solved)

Post by 3DModelerMan »

Hi I was wondering wich renderer out of the Irrlicht options is the fastest.
Is it software? or openGL?.
Thanks :D .
Last edited by 3DModelerMan on Wed Jul 23, 2008 5:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
Mirror
Posts: 218
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 4:09 pm

Post by Mirror »

software rendering is always slower than hardware renderers ( d3d9 opengl ). there have been thousands of forum flame wars in various forums about which is better ( direct3d or opengl ). Personally until now i prefer d3d9 as for my nvidia 6600 it has a slight performance advantage towards opengl.
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Re: Rendering drivers

Post by rogerborg »

3DModelerMan wrote:Hi I was wondering wich renderer out of the Irrlicht options is the fastest.
Is it software? or openGL?.
Are you taking the piss?

If software rendering were faster, why would anyone buy a 3D card?
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
BlindSide
Admin
Posts: 2821
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:09 am
Location: NZ!

Post by BlindSide »

The ray tracing driver is the fastest. XD
ShadowMapping for Irrlicht!: Get it here
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

openGL

Post by 3DModelerMan »

I was using the software renderer because openGL images look pixelated,
and It's not a power of two problem I even tried setting a texture creation flag to optimized for quality before loading the texture.
So right now I'm stuck with software.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
Virion
Competition winner
Posts: 2148
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:04 am

Post by Virion »

you cant do much thing using software renderer.
Halifax
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 10:40 pm
Location: $9D95

Re: openGL

Post by Halifax »

3DModelerMan wrote:I was using the software renderer because openGL images look pixelated,
and It's not a power of two problem I even tried setting a texture creation flag to optimized for quality before loading the texture.
So right now I'm stuck with software.
Sounds like a driver problem to me.
TheQuestion = 2B || !2B
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

driver problem?

Post by 3DModelerMan »

What kind of driver problem would it be?, openGL worked for me perfectly
in 1.4.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
Nadro
Posts: 1648
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:08 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by Nadro »

Does GUI look pixelated? This is cause by non filtering in draw2DImage, In BUGs forum I added patch for it;)
Library helping with network requests, tasks management, logger etc in desktop and mobile apps: https://github.com/GrupaPracuj/hermes
Virion
Competition winner
Posts: 2148
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:04 am

Post by Virion »

Nadro wrote:Does GUI look pixelated? This is cause by non filtering in draw2DImage, In BUGs forum I added patch for it;)
Nadro ownz! :P
Mirror
Posts: 218
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 4:09 pm

Post by Mirror »

try d3d9
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

yeah

Post by 3DModelerMan »

Yeah it looks pixelated, I add the image like this

Code: Select all

IGUIImage* bkg = guienv->addImage(driver->getTexture("C:/Documents and Settings/Tanner/My Documents/Wolfpack/Bitmaps/Gui/main_splash_screen.bmp"),
    position2d<int>(0,0));
I can't upload a screenshot because I don't have any place to host it yet but I'm working on it.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
JP
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by JP »

Have you tried Photobucket? Image shack? You can always google for free image hosting sites ;)
Image Image Image
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

umm

Post by 3DModelerMan »

:oops: You see my mom won't let me have an account yet.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
Dorth
Posts: 931
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 11:03 pm

Post by Dorth »

Seriously, how much of a troll can one really be...
Post Reply