Blank screen?

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
Fox
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 5:59 am
Location: Okinawa, Japan

Blank screen?

Post by Fox »

Hello again.

I got everythings done with code in visual studio and then i choose defrag after compile, but nothing happens!! just blank grey screen! Image

Is iy suposed to be like this?
Acki
Posts: 3496
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:04 am
Location: Nobody's Place (Venlo NL)
Contact:

Post by Acki »

in the console window behind the app's window I see "Unable..." in the last line !!!
so I suppose your programm doesn't find the mesh (or what else you're trying to load)... ;)
be sure all assets can be found by the program !!! :lol:
always check the console output to be sure everything is loaded correctly !!!


and if you want help, then give as many information as you can, also code snippets are often usefull !!! ;)
in this case we don't know nothing about what you're trying to do with the program, so we can only guess wild...
while(!asleep) sheep++;
IrrExtensions:Image
http://abusoft.g0dsoft.com
try Stendhal a MORPG written in Java
Fox
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 5:59 am
Location: Okinawa, Japan

Post by Fox »

Ahh i see, it says unable to open scene file "../../media/example.irr"

Code: Select all

smgr->loadScene("../../media/example.irr");







Sooo if i want to load my own Irr file (which i do have) how would i type it in that space? like?  
smgr->loadScene("Documents and settings/main/scenefile.irr:);

Is that how i should type it?
Seven
Posts: 1034
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 2:03 pm

Post by Seven »

try it and see what happens?
Fox
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 5:59 am
Location: Okinawa, Japan

Post by Fox »

Did not work.

What would i need to do to load my irr scene file?
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

You need to load with the proper path from the working directory set. However, some compilers tend to start from a different directory than one might expect. You should try and start the app from the command line (where the current directory is the one you're in) or check the settings of the working directory for apps run from your IDE.
Post Reply