Page 1 of 2

Unable to open scene file: ../../

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 3:29 am
by Fox
Unable to open scene file: ../../3dmax/export/middle.3ds
The program '[1216] 3d project.exe: Native' has exited with code 0 (0x0).


This is error i get when i try to load my scene from 3d max- i did load it into Irr-EDIT then saved it as a irr-file. I do not know what i need to do in order to reslove this problem..please help me.

Code: Select all

#include <irrlicht.h>
#include <iostream>

using namespace irr;


#ifdef _MSC_VER
#pragma comment(lib, "Irrlicht.lib")
#endif

int main()
{
       

        video::E_DRIVER_TYPE driverType;

        printf("Please select the driver you want for this example:\n"\
                " (a) Direct3D 9.0c\n (b) Direct3D 8.1\n (c) OpenGL 1.5\n"\
                " (d) Software Renderer\n (e) Burning's Software Renderer\n"\
                " (f) NullDevice\n (otherKey) exit\n\n");

        char i;
        std::cin >> i

        ;switch(i)
{
                case 'a': driverType = video::EDT_DIRECT3D9;break;
                case 'b': driverType = video::EDT_DIRECT3D8;break;
                case 'c': driverType = video::EDT_OPENGL;   break;
                case 'd': driverType = video::EDT_SOFTWARE; break;
                case 'e': driverType = video::EDT_BURNINGSVIDEO;break;
                case 'f': driverType = video::EDT_NULL;     break;
                default: return 1;
        }       

       

        IrrlichtDevice* device =
                createDevice(driverType, core::dimension2d<s32>(640, 480));

        if (device == 0)
                return 1;

        device->setWindowCaption(L"Load .irr file middle.3ds");

        video::IVideoDriver* driver = device->getVideoDriver();
        scene::ISceneManager* smgr = device->getSceneManager();
		

		{
			smgr->loadScene("../../3dmax/export/middle.3ds");


        smgr->addCameraSceneNodeFPS();
		}
    

        int lastFPS = -1;

        while(device->run())
        if (device->isWindowActive())

        {
                driver->beginScene(true, true, video::SColor(0,200,200,200));
                smgr->drawAll();
                driver->endScene();

				int fps = driver->getFPS();
				if (fps!=lastFPS);
				{
                
                
                        core::stringw str = L"Middle east project";
                        str += driver->getName();
                        str += "] FPS:";
                        str += fps;

                        device->setWindowCaption(str.c_str());
                        lastFPS = fps;
                }


		}
        device->drop();

        return 0;


...so sorry for mt english...?

Ryu omineeko,

thanks.

[/code]

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 6:19 am
by Brainsaw
I had this problem because the working path of the program is set to the Irrlicht directory when creating a "Irrlicht" project in code::blocks. Are you sure your working path is correct?

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 6:33 am
by Fox
Working path? you mean going to tool's/options/projects and solutions/VC-++ Directories/ ect...? if so then yes, i have the "include" folder, library folder, and the lib of win32 visual studio added.

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 8:37 am
by hybrid
No, it's a question about the path your app is run from. Just as in your other thread...

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 12:50 pm
by Acki
also .3ds files are not irr scenes !!!

and don't make 2 threads about the same problem, please !!! ;)

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 1:13 pm
by hybrid
Well, then it might be a different problem here, because it was a .irr file in the other thread...
Fox, do us all a favor and go through the irrlicht tutorials first, will help you many embarassing moments and us much time :wink:

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 4:17 pm
by Fox
Sorry...


But i did look at them and read the first 2 but didnt understand how "I" could load my own project...thats why im here...sorry for this...

Ok i re-read the "Quake3Map" in Visual Studio and i understand that in order to load your scene you must put "

Code: Select all

scene::IAnimatedMesh* mesh = smgr->getMesh("20kdm2.bsp");
	scene::ISceneNode* node = 0;
and that it's not really animated it's static geometry. But im wondering if the file has to be a .BSP file? probably a stupid question but it's worth a shot.

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 8:20 pm
by hybrid
Please, do us really the favor to go through *ALL* tutorials. Really. Don't say anything before you did. Really don't.

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 8:50 pm
by Fox
Why do you have to say it like that for?


cranky people...

::::TOPIC CLOSED::::

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 9:45 pm
by hybrid
Now, that's simple. Because I did say it in a friendly ut still easily comprehensable way before. You didn't seem to read my full sentence, though. So I stressed the important parts of the text. Seems like you still didn't understand, but that's not my problem.

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 10:48 pm
by Fox
...Oh it's crystal clear. It's funny you avoid the big :::TOPIC CLOSED:: so you can get the last word in. See you fail to realize that nobody can see you nor hear you, so if somebody takes what your saying in a negative way then that's a problem. So next time when some one think's that your being rude just apologize because you don't realize how your putting your word's.

And another thing, people on this forum ask for help, so if you think you can help people DO IT don't give people a hard time, if you know then say something, don't come in here with your nose in the air acting big and bad.


::::TOPIC CLOSED::::

For real this time.

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 11:26 pm
by hybrid
Sorry to say, but the little word under my name makes me closing threads for real. And that's why I also act big and bad, because I am :twisted:
Ok, for real: If you won't read the manual, answers in many forums will be RTFM. We tried to help you very politely, but you just ignored that, you even ignore it now :roll:

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 11:53 pm
by rogerborg
hybrid, are you unreasonably expecting people to actually put in some work in order to understand things rather than just fixing their problems for them so that they never have to learn anything? You're so mean!

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 11:54 pm
by Acki
::::TOPIC RE-OPENED:::: <LMAO>

here we go: in the left corner the mighty noob "FOX" !!!
and in the right corner the dump comunity represented by the forum admin "HYBRID" !!!

!!! get ready to rumble !!!

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

well, seriously, Fox, you're about to get realy good friends here... :lol:
please calm down !!!
and check who gives you advices before offending them, especially users with several thousands posts in the forums do know what they are talking about, so you can trust them and should follow their advices... ;)

btw, if Hybrid wasn't that fast I'd gave you the same advice he did...

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 2:10 am
by Fox
HAHA hilarious. you guys are jokes. Say what you want i don't mind. :lol:
See i like the way you put your wordings Acki. Thank's.

Well the reasons why i said those things is because i was feeling like he was being rude in a way so i was is typing what i thought i mean everyone is entitled to there own opinion so i said it lol.

Once again...sorry for my english...not soo good.