JointMode / TransitionTime Question.

You are an experienced programmer and have a problem with the engine, shaders, or advanced effects? Here you'll get answers.
No questions about C++ programming or topics which are answered in the tutorials!
xsocom
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:34 am

JointMode / TransitionTime Question.

Post by xsocom »

Hello, I have some questions about this animation system, I have been adding it to my game but the models like start to "vibrate", Let say the model have 1-60 frames, When it gets to fram 40 it starting to vibrate same on all models I have tryed and it does not vibrate when I disable the TransitionTime etc.

I enable it like this.

setTransitionTime(0.24f);
setJointMode(EJUOR_CONTROL);

animateJoints before DrawALL.

And when I disable it the model stop to vibrate.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
Mel
Competition winner
Posts: 2292
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Post by Mel »

Not an idea, aside that you don't use transitions (doh'!) but that is a problem i also have, I have reported it as a bug, i thought it could be about the polycount, so, may i ask you how many polygons do you have on screen? I have about 50000 or 60000 Could it be a high polygon count trouble? do you use DevCPP as your development tool?
"There is nothing truly useless, it always serves as a bad example". Arthur A. Schmitt
xsocom
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:34 am

Post by xsocom »

Hello Mel, The models I use have around 1200poly's not so much so it must be an bug in the Transition system because I have tryed with 10-15 models, from 250 polys to 2500 and no diffrent. I use Visual studio 8.0
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

Question the First: what Irrlicht version are you using?

Question the Second: have you tried 1.5 / SVN trunk?
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
xsocom
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:34 am

Post by xsocom »

Hey rogerborg, Im using the Irrlicht 1.4.2 Released on the download page, and no I havent tryed the 1.5 / SVN trunk, I will for sure do that.
Mel
Competition winner
Posts: 2292
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Post by Mel »

Newbee question ahead (In the SVN, and stuff meaning) how to access Irrlicht 1.5 in the SVN?
"There is nothing truly useless, it always serves as a bad example". Arthur A. Schmitt
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Mel
Competition winner
Posts: 2292
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Post by Mel »

Thank you very much! :)

Hmmm! interesting! 1.5 definately looks supperb! Good work ;) keep it up!

EDIT: I'm downloading 1.5 from SVN, i'll recompile it to add Direct3d9, and i'll check if it still gives the same error.
"There is nothing truly useless, it always serves as a bad example". Arthur A. Schmitt
Mel
Competition winner
Posts: 2292
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Post by Mel »

Again newbee question:

I got the 1.5 SVN version, and tried to recompile it. I noticed there was no "irrlicht.lib" in the lib/win32-gcc directory, but i did it anyway, to see if there would be any success on its compilation.

It went fine, but in the end, it gave me the result that it could not link with an external resource, so, i guessed it should have to do with not having the lib/win32-gcc/irrlicht.lib resource mentioned before, so, my question is: how to compile that lib in order to get the rest of the dll compiled under DevCPP?

Thanks!
"There is nothing truly useless, it always serves as a bad example". Arthur A. Schmitt
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Irrlicht.lib is automatically created right before the .dll is created.
Mel
Competition winner
Posts: 2292
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Post by Mel »

In DevCPP too?... i didn't find any file after the process ended. I mean in the lib/win32-gcc directory.
"There is nothing truly useless, it always serves as a bad example". Arthur A. Schmitt
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Yes, it should do so.
Mel
Competition winner
Posts: 2292
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Post by Mel »

Odd... i'll check it again. Thanks!
"There is nothing truly useless, it always serves as a bad example". Arthur A. Schmitt
oldskoolPunk
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:07 am

Post by oldskoolPunk »

No vibrations here? Could you show a test so I could try to recreate the vibrations?

Remember that the transitions only work between animations, like when you change from standing to walking.

If you are somehow invoking the transitions between every frame then yes, I could see that it might cause some problems.
Signature? I ain't signin nuthin!
xsocom
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:34 am

Post by xsocom »

oldskoolPunk:

How do you mean exacly? I just set the.

setTransitionTime(0.24f);
setJointMode(EJUOR_CONTROL);

When I create a new object and do:

animateJoints before DrawALL.

That will make it enable in every frame, So you mean I need to disable the Transition when the model is not changing any animation? and enable it when it change animation state?

Can you please give me an example.

Thanks alot.
Post Reply