Page 1 of 1

Could not draw triangles...

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 1:13 am
by Mad-Mazda
Any ideas on whats causing this.
http://i34.tinypic.com/34pcqds.jpg

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 1:22 am
by Lonesome Ducky
I'm guessing the console is telling you the truth, there are too many triangles in the mesh. Irrlicht uses 16 bit mesh buffers so you can't go above that number in one mesh. Try splitting it to fix the problem.

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 1:35 am
by Mad-Mazda
Well its terrain thats doing it. So ill just split the hightmap.

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 4:41 am
by Dark_Kilauea
I believe SVN (and thus Irrlicht 1.5) supports 32 bit meshbuffers for the terrain scene node, allowing you to keep it as one node.

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:19 am
by hybrid
Yes, but if you can easily split into several mesh buffers (need not split into separate meshes, the limit is per meshbuffer) the performance is better with just one mesh and several buffers. The latter is not true anymore for huge dimensions, because frustum culling only happens on full meshes. Hence, most tiled terrains have several scene nodes. Just read in those forum threads about pros and cons.