Page 1 of 1

How to deploy/pack my irrlicht game ?

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 6:49 am
by maxi0361
I have done some test on irrlicht and need to send to my partner so that he can see the result.
I am using VS2008.

I give him the .exe inside Debug folder, Irrlicht.dll, and a folder containing mesh.

But he said he cannot run the .exe.

So how can I make my project run on someone else machine?

and also my project cannot compile in Release mode. the compiler said cannot find irrlicht.h, but it compiles just fine in debug mode. what should I do?

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 7:21 am
by FuzzYspo0N
The folder with the exe , the meshes and the irrlicht.dll should be enough :) a few notes :

Make sure your code is loading the right path like :
./data/mesh.msh <- this is relative to the exe , where as
C:/Game/Data/Mesh.msh <- is not. make sure these are correct and not absolute paths .

Another spot to check is inside of the irr file : (if you are using one) use notepad (or any editor) and open the irr file and double check for static/absolute paths.

The other thing : When you set the folders / additional includes in VS its personal to each project UNLESS, you go to Tools -> Options -> and add the folders /include and /lib to the correct category. (note, the correct drop down value)

Otherwise switch to release mode, and add the folders and the lib file again to the release project, at the moment its only set in debug

hope this helps

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:22 am
by hybrid
IIRC, distributing Debug mode compiles is not allowed. Switch to rlease mode and send the runtime libs with your app. If you need a debug version your friend will need VS2008 as well.

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 9:23 pm
by Dark_Kilauea
That OR you can link to the static version of the MSVC runtimes and you shouldn't need to install MSVC on the target computer.

See Project Settings -> C++ -> Code Generation. Then change Runtime Library to Multithreaded Debug (or Multithreaded for the release build). This will lengthen linker times, but should allow other people to run the executable without needing the MSVC runtimes.

Posted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 6:45 am
by maxi0361
Thank you. =D
Now I know what my problem is.

I am using debug mode compiled .exe and linking .h,.lib on a personal project base.

Ths again.

Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:08 am
by maxi0361
I have change my linking set up in Tools->Options and compile in release mode.

two of my friend who don't have Visual Studio and Don't have Irrlicht can run without problem while other two will get this error message.
"can not start this application, because application setting is not correct. re-install the application may solve the problem".

what is wrong here?

Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:28 am
by JP
You've probably got your compiler setup wrong so that it's using the MSVC runtime libraries. So either force all your users to install the MSVC runtimes or change your compiler settings to not require them. I think that's just Project Properties/C/C++/Code Generation/Runtime library which should be MT. There may be other options to change actually, can't remember! Google up some help on it if that doesn't do the trick.

Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:10 pm
by Dark_Kilauea
There seems to be a lot of people having issues with those MSVC runtime libraries. Perhaps this should go into a FAQ section somewhere?

Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:13 am
by maxi0361
JP, your trick works.
After setting properties to Mt, the size of my .exe shrink and also everyone of my friends can run without a problem.

can anyone tell me what is the difference between those modes?