Water Spikes

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
Guest

Water Spikes

Post by Guest »

I have added water to my game but when it washes up on terrain it looks awful, sort of spiky:

Image

Any idea on what I can do to fix this?
Guest

Post by Guest »

Sorry for the double post but just to show more on this problem, here is it zoomed out:

Image
thesmileman
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 2:20 am
Location: Lubbock, TX

Post by thesmileman »

Does your water texture have very many polygons or is it just one or just a few. If not try a higher polygon model for the water.
Guest

Post by Guest »

My water texture is just an image..it doesn't have polygons. What do you mean?
DarkWhoppy
Posts: 386
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 12:43 pm
Contact:

Post by DarkWhoppy »

thesmileman is probably thinking that you used this: http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/docu/cl ... er.html#a6
thesmileman
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 2:20 am
Location: Lubbock, TX

Post by thesmileman »

Yes I was think that you were using the addWaterSurfaceSceneNode() function ass DarkWhoppy suggested :D I would think using a mesh would be more benificial if you are planning on doing any sort of detection of whether someone is in the water or not or collision detection but to each his own.

Is your image at all transparent?

You might try a higher resolution image and not making the image larger than it's original size
Last edited by thesmileman on Wed Jul 14, 2004 7:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
StuCollier
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:16 pm

Post by StuCollier »

Have you used scale to make the water plane larger ?
StuC
Freeware games
www.ovine.net
LordNaikon
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 5:34 pm
Location: Germany Berlin
Contact:

Post by LordNaikon »

i had had the same problem some time ago

i make it short ! try to run your application in windowed mode then there will be no spikes!

see here!
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... 3339#13339

i think it has to do with the z buffer! somehow the fulsceen use a different amount / precisely z buffer .. so the rendering goese false. don't know how to increase the z buffer accuracy.

maybe you guys
q|^.^|p beeing every time friendly to everyone
sys: 2500+Barton 512MB 6600GT WinXP
thesmileman
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 2:20 am
Location: Lubbock, TX

Post by thesmileman »

I have noticed that skyboxes and other textures often times are not a sharp in fullscreen mode as they are in windowed.
Guest

Post by Guest »

After I changed it to using stencil buffers it works fine! Thanks a lot :)
Post Reply