Irredit - black meshs = no texture

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
IrrNoob

Irredit - black meshs = no texture

Post by IrrNoob »

I resently got around to looking at example 15 which gives details about
loading .irr files in Irrlicht.

I'm new to IrrEdit and so after loading the example.irr i made a custom .irr file to see what I could do. The scene calls for the default skybox and a terrain mesh i made out of a .3ds file.

However while making the custom .irr file in IrrEdit, I noticed that the terrain mesh wasn't rendering and the console was telling me it was unable to open the terrain.3ds file nor the texture for the mesh.

I then noticed that the file path was wrong as seen in the console, and tried fixing it in IrrEdit, but after correcting the file path the mesh turns black and will not show its texture, even though now the console says that it is finding the file.

Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?
Last edited by IrrNoob on Fri Jan 02, 2009 11:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bitplane
Admin

Post by bitplane »

Did you add a light?
Submit bugs/patches to the tracker!
Need help right now? Visit the chat room
IrrNoob

Post by IrrNoob »

Yes, but nothing is different.
ayboangelus

Post by ayboangelus »

Have you disable your light when you have created your character in 3D.

Try with another.
IrrNoob

Post by IrrNoob »

I used Blender 3d to build a small plane of about a hundred polys and exported it as a .x, 3ds, and md2, but none of these worked.

Something i may need to explain is that the mesh becomes black in IrrEdit, no matter the format or light positioning. It becomes black when I point IrrEdit towards the correct paths of my mesh file.

However, before doing this, my custom grass.jpg texture is showing correctly on the terrain mesh.

but i need to correct the default

Code: Select all