IrrMaple

Announce new projects or updates of Irrlicht Engine related tools, games, and applications.
Also check the Wiki
Cloudef

IrrMaple

Post by Cloudef »

IrrMaple
Maple Story "Reverse-Engineering" project.

Hello,
As most of you have seen i have joined quite recently and i am quite new to Irrlicht. I have used couple of (Rendering)engines for this project and haven't found good one until now. It seems Irrlicht is good for even 2d :wink:

Anyways, the current state of project is that i can read every equipment and body part from BannedStory data files, this is why i said "Reverse-Engineering" because i'm not sure if those data files are actually ripped of the game, but there is hundreds of them so i guess so.

I also made level editor which is quite nice now, if i ever find the way to actually dump the original files of Maple Story i could make my level editor compatible with Maple Story maps, but i'm too lazy to check the .WZ package, and all i actually needed was to find out how they did those characters. Other aspects of the game are actually level editor defendant and i enjoy coding my own system for it, it will also code my server what i aim to be better, maybe not faster, but more secure and functional.

Well, enough of plapla...
http://flare.xenmedia.org/uploads/Kuvakaappaus.png[Big Picture](This is the first pic with actual multiplayer interaction. The FPS is lower because i'm using sleep on client for good reasons.)

It's currently compiling only on Linux, my friend tried to compile in VC++, but it crashed on windows. I look into it later with Virtual Machine when i get into testing.
I have nice define flag in server if i want to render stuff to help me debug whats going on.
Maybe this thread was bit early one because the progress is going to be slow (Yeh, i'm trying to do whole "MMO" part fast as possible so it ain't gonna be easy even the game is pretty simple.)

Cheers,
Cloudef
shadowslair

Post by shadowslair »