Character movement on uneven terrain

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
theOneAwaited

Character movement on uneven terrain

Post by theOneAwaited »

Hey guys,
I am brand new to Irrlicht and have gone through these forums like crazy to learn all the examples. I have managed to load terrain, a character, third-person camera, and make my character walk to a point that I select on the terrain.

Now my current problem is that my character does not stay flat on uneven terrain when he is walking. For example, if he starts on a hill, he stays in the air while walking to the next location. He still moves with the terrain, but not even with the ground.

I was wondering how to 'properly' adjust the character's Y position so that he stays flat on the ground while walking....without implementing a full-blown physics system. Do I need to shoot a ray from his position, into the terrain, check the distance and adjust it?
Or does Irrlicht handle this and I am missing it?

If there are any other links in this forum that address this question, please post them so I can figure it out :lol: Thanks in advance!
yamashi

Post by yamashi »

Using the getHeight function of the terrain you should be able to do it.
But using a physic engine is always a good thing, you might need it later.

Code: Select all

vector3df charPos = character->getPosition();
charPos.Y = terrain->getHeight(charPos.X,charPos.Z);
character->setPosition(charPos);
JP

Post by JP »

Aye if you use a physics engine then they provide character controllers which make all this stuff easy peasy! Having said that if your requirements are fairly simple, i.e. just having the character follow the terrain then that's certainly something you could take care of yourself.