How to distribute Irrlicht on linux

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
vins

How to distribute Irrlicht on linux

Post by vins »

I'm not very experienced with linux and I don't know how to distribute any application/game I make with irrlicht on linux. I've compiled Irrlicht using Code::Blocks as a shared lib and it produced a file "libIrrlicht.so"; Then I compiled a simple code and the executable requires this file to run. So I copied it to /usr/lib and the file starts. But it doesn't seems the right way to me. What if there is already such file there and what if it's build with a newer/older version of Irrlicht. I tried to put the file in the path where the executable was but it still can't find it.

Any help, comment etc would be appreciated.
Thanks.

PS:
I maged to run the program using the terminal by first setting the library path with "export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH"; But it's inconvenient.
bitplane
Admin

Post by bitplane »

I'm not sure about this (I've been investigating it myself) but I think the best solution at the moment is to static link your app, otherwise I think you'll have to make a package for Irrlicht and include it as a dependency to your deb/rpm. You can install Irrlicht as a shared library manually by doing make sharedlib followed by sudo make install, but until 1.6.0 this won't be forward compatible with new versions, the soname is libIrrlicht.so.1 which links to 1.5.X. This would work with libIrrlicht.so.1.5.1, but not with libIrrlicht.so.1.6.0 which won't be binary compatible. The soname in trunk is now libIrrlicht.so.Major.Minor, minor releases should be binary compatible (unless we screw up!)

Starting with 1.6 we hope to supply a deb package for Irrlicht, if you want to make your own earlier then you should adapt the makefile from svn trunk instead. Static linking is the simplest option at the moment.